Intel NUC - HTPC (Bay Trail 2013 edition - DN2820FYKH)

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 860
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 23
Post: #1606
Yes. Works fine with my i5-NUC internal IR and the USB RC6 receivers I used with other XBMC installs. I prefer the PS3 BD remote day-to-day though.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-19 10:09 by noggin.)
find quote
joshua.lyon Offline
Donor
Posts: 87
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: North Texas
Post: #1607
(2014-08-18 21:36)-DDD- Wrote:  Why are mSATA faster and where are they cheaper?

I figured he was implying that 'regular' SATA drives are platter/disk based drives (as opposed to SSD SATA). And in that line of thinking, mSATA is faster than 'regular' SATA because they are flash memory based. I would argue that mSATA drives are typically more expensive than their SSD SATA counterparts and are most certainly more expensive than their 'regular' SATA counterparts.

Here's a price comparison across the Samsung line of drives in the 500 GB range:
  • Regular SATA: $49 (Spinpoint M8)
  • SSD SATA: $249 (840 EVO SSD)
  • mSATA: $279 (840 EVO mSATA)
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-19 22:51 by joshua.lyon.)
find quote
-DDD- Online
Fan
Posts: 390
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 8
Post: #1608
Its the same in EU:
Regular Hard Disk Drive - 35€ http://geizhals.de/eu/seagate-samsung-sp...48492.html
2,5 SATA SSD - 194€ http://geizhals.de/eu/samsung-ssd-840-ev...77941.html
mSATA SSD - 218€ http://geizhals.de/eu/samsung-ssd-840-ev...49919.html

The mSATA Versions of SSDs can often operate slower than 2,5' SATA SSDs, cause the mSATA Slot on some Mainboards have only "SATA2 / 3GB/s" Speed.

| myHTPC |
find quote
skooby Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1609
(2014-08-18 10:07)-DDD- Wrote:  What type of Adapter do you exactly have?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271456477538?_...EBIDX%3AIT
find quote
suku_patel_22 Offline
Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1610
Just received my NUC yesterday, updated BIOS to v38 and completed the setup of XBMCBuntu to the SSD.

Coming from a pi this feels so much faster.

I am facing 2 issues
1. My 2TB powered external drive is not being mounted. It is formatted in ext4. Have installed gparted and will check again tonight. Any pointers would help.
2. The GUI is slightly zoomed out. I could fix it in XBMC by setting it to - 4%. How do it fix it for the desktop and the login screen?
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 7,964
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 136
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #1611
2. Turn off over scan on your TV

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
EvilOverLord Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1612
Reporting in.

Pulled the trigger on the 2820 2 day ago, all setup and working sweet with OpenELEC

Kingston 120GB SSDNow V300 SV300S37A/120G
Kingston 4GB 1600MHz Low voltage DDR3 Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM (1.35V) KVR16LS11/4

Works great.
Have set it up with the Logitech Harmony, powers on, powers off, and can control XBMC no probs.
find quote
dannysmith43 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1613
(2014-08-20 06:55)EvilOverLord Wrote:  Reporting in.

Pulled the trigger on the 2820 2 day ago, all setup and working sweet with OpenELEC

Kingston 120GB SSDNow V300 SV300S37A/120G
Kingston 4GB 1600MHz Low voltage DDR3 Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM (1.35V) KVR16LS11/4

Works great.
Have set it up with the Logitech Harmony, powers on, powers off, and can control XBMC no probs.
I've got a similar setup, works great. Have you managed to get bluetooth working into OpenElec ?
find quote
perry99 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 1
Post: #1614
Quote:Have you managed to get bluetooth working into OpenElec ?

Bluetooth works fine with nightly build (helix).
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:58 by perry99.)
find quote
dannysmith43 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1615
Have you managed to get bluetooth working into OpenElec ?
[/quote]

Bluetooth works fine with nightly build (helix).
[/quote]
Ooh nice, is it stable? Can I backup my configuration settings on my current version and restore them to the Helix version?
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,789
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 135
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1616
No it's not stable - we are currently reworking the complete VAAPI acceleration - so crashes now and then are part of this process.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
dannysmith43 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1617
(Today 00:00)fritsch Wrote:  No it's not stable - we are currently reworking the complete VAAPI acceleration - so crashes now and then are part of this process.
Thanks, I'll hold off for now. I installed the Generic version on my NUC...I see there is an Intel version. Does anyone know If the Intel version would contain drivers specifically for the NUC?
find quote
-DDD- Online
Fan
Posts: 390
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 8
Post: #1618
There isn't an actual Intel Version anymore http://openelec.tv/news/22-releases/125-...0-released
"New and dropped builds in OpenELEC 4.0"

| myHTPC |
find quote
xbs08 Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,710
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Portugal
Post: #1619
Anyone know if Bluetooth audio works on helix?
Wanted to push audio to a BT receiver and to my headphones.

  • Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH
  • Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB
  • SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD
  • Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,789
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 135
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1620
helix has nothing to do with bluetooth - it's all about the underlaying OS and its integration.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Post Reply