Intel NUC - HTPC (Bay Trail 2013 edition - DN2820FYKH)

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
RideLikeTheWind Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: It's not hell, but you can see it from here
Post: #1621
Hi,
Just wondering which version of Openelec people are running with now? I'm currently on 4.0.7 and was thinking of trying the newer Beta versions do they run OK or just sit and wait for the next stable upgrade?
Next question what's the easiest way to upgrade, just drop the kernel and system files into the OE_System folder?

Thanks for the advice.

RLTW
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,888
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1622
OpenELEC Upgrading: http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php/Updating_OpenELEC

Make sure what that upgrading means for your addons

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
pr0xZen Offline
Fan
Posts: 432
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 17
Post: #1623
(2014-08-16 10:36)ozimek Wrote:  I'm wondering if this missing functionality is a fair reason to return the unit? I'm really disappointed about this. Undecided

I can't make Netflix in surround work on this unit either. I'm using the app under Win8.1 but it is lagging horribly (i.e. slow motion!) when I enable 5.1. Stereo is fine. Has anyone made Netflix surround work?
Intel claims support in both the manual and i believe, on the retail packaging. They've admitted this is wrong now. Should be grounds for a refund in most countries. Some of us have had these for many months yes, but then again Intel gave strong indications that this was a /software/ issue and would be fixed. They only admitted this to be lacking HW, a few days ago.

The horrible lag/skipping is a direct consequence of Netflix not getting the required PAP.
I've gotten 5.1 and DD+ working fine in Netflix Metro app - by using a $15 USB soundcard that outputs 6-ch (5.1) analog to my AVR (and SPDIF for AC3/DTS). No bitstream, no PAP requirement. For DTS-HD/MA - that route would still require software decoding -> analog output (or LPCM over HDMI).

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge - please click the plus to the left below to give thanks
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-24 15:51 by pr0xZen.)
find quote
Stephen88 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1624
Hi guys, I'm thinking of buying this nuc, but I could not find information about whether it is capable of playing 1080p mkv encoded in H.265 or x265, can anyone help me?
find quote
john.cord Offline
Fan
Posts: 478
Joined: Jan 2007
Reputation: 6
Location: Vienna
Post: #1625
(2014-08-25 09:30)Stephen88 Wrote:  Hi guys, I'm thinking of buying this nuc, but I could not find information about whether it is capable of playing 1080p mkv encoded in H.265 or x265, can anyone help me?

i3 and i5, not the celeron.

Sapphire Edge HD Nettop (ION2, Atom D510, Nvidia GT218 512MB, 2GB DDR2) @ Ubuntu Minimal 12.04, XBMC 13.2
Raspberry Pi (Overclocked) @ Openelec 4.1.4 Beta
HP N54L @ Ubuntu 12.04 Minimal Server / MySQL DB
- Fix USB Remote Wakeup under Ubuntu 12.04 Minimal
find quote
Stephen88 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1626
(2014-08-25 10:49)john.cord Wrote:  
(2014-08-25 09:30)Stephen88 Wrote:  Hi guys, I'm thinking of buying this nuc, but I could not find information about whether it is capable of playing 1080p mkv encoded in H.265 or x265, can anyone help me?

i3 and i5, not the celeron.
thanks John for your reply.
it will mean that I will buy version i3.
If you hear someone in the next versions of nuc with Broadwell and Braswell will still have the hdmi 1.4a and DisplayPort 1.2 connector then again nothing 4k uhd.
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 878
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 24
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #1627
(2014-08-25 12:47)Stephen88 Wrote:  
(2014-08-25 10:49)john.cord Wrote:  
(2014-08-25 09:30)Stephen88 Wrote:  Hi guys, I'm thinking of buying this nuc, but I could not find information about whether it is capable of playing 1080p mkv encoded in H.265 or x265, can anyone help me?

i3 and i5, not the celeron.
thanks John for your reply.
it will mean that I will buy version i3.
If you hear someone in the next versions of nuc with Broadwell and Braswell will still have the hdmi 1.4a and DisplayPort 1.2 connector then again nothing 4k uhd.

HDMI 1.4 carries 3840x2160 at 24, 25 and 30p already. The current Haswell chips support this with no problems. I connected my Chromebox and i5-NUC to a Sony 4K UHD set and had no problems playing 4K H264 24-30p content.

What you can't achieve with current Intel HDMI 1.4 connections is 50p or 60p - so movies are fine, but broadcast TV (there isn't much of this) isn't. (Annoyingly HDMI 2.0 includes an HDMI 1.4 bandwidth-friendly 4:2:0 2160/50p and 60p profile which nVidia have rolled into their Kepler drivers for HDMI 1.4 cards - effectively adding one HDMI 2.0 profile to existing HDMI 1.4 cards. Sony 4K sets will accept this - in fact some of them only accept it as their HDMI 2.0 implementation is effectively limited to HDMI 1.4 bandwidths too.... However Intel don't have this an option yet AIUI - and may decide (or not be able to) implement it?

Also whilst H264 is accelerated at 4K in hardware, H265 is software only. I've not been able to test 24-30p H265 4K - but I know 50-60p stuff really needs an i7 even with the OpenHEVC implementation (which is faster than the one in XBMC currently I believe)
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,888
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #1628
You believe or you know? :-)

Don't forget nobody has tested the openhevc implementation within xbmc - though doing so is quite easy. Change the ffmpeg depends file to link to an openhevc release tarball - done.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 878
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 24
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #1629
I've compared ffplay with and without OpenHEVC on my 4GHz i7-2600K playing 2160/60p H265 stuff and the OpenHEVC implementation appeared to be a bit better. This included either a crop or scale to 1080p. (Crop was obviously less computationally intensive and much more fluid)

ffplay without OpenHEVC on an i5-3570K (not over clocked) was not that great.

The source material was the BBC DVB-T2 38Mbs HEVC broadcasts of the World Cup that they ran that were easily received with a DVB-T2 USB tuner if you were in the coverage area. (They used the frequency reserved for the UK's third DVB-T2 multiplex which has yet to launch)
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-25 14:12 by noggin.)
find quote
Post Reply