Windows - DTS-HD Master Audio Issue

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Rebecca Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Exclamation  DTS-HD Master Audio Issue
Post: #1
I'm having the following issue.

Whenever I load a video file (MKV format) that has DTS-HD master audio 7.1, in XBMC it is labeled as having DTS-HD master audio 5.1.Huh
Whenever I load a video file (MKV format) that has Dolby TRUEHD 7.1, in XBMC it is labeled correctly as having 7.1 surround sound.Smile

Is this a glitch in the program or do I have to add some sort of prefix in the file name?

Could someone please help me out with this one? It really bugs me. I've tried to find the answer in the wiki but couldn't find it.
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-26 20:29 by Rebecca.)
find quote
Rebecca Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Really, does noone here on this forum have a sollution?

Or am I the only person that has this issue? Or that cares about this issue?

To elaborate, I have the same issue in Frodo and in Gotham. The 7.1 audio plays like it's supposed to, but the program doesn't display it correctly.

Sometimes I wonder that the reason why nobody ever responds to my posts is because I'm not a guy.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,275
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #3
Currently ffmpeg can't decode DTS-HD MA extension, only the core. The only way to get 7.1 is to pass it through, though the label may still say 5.1
find quote
Rebecca Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Yes, like I said, playing 7.1 audio is not the issue.
The issue is that it doesn't label it correctly in the library!
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,275
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #5
We get this info from decoder also for the case of passing audio through. Decoder only gives us 5.1 for DTS-HD MA. The issue will disappear once MA can be decoded by ffmpeg.
find quote
xbdmbcpnw Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
What's sad is that you think this:
"Sometimes I wonder that the reason why nobody ever responds to my posts is because I'm not a guy."
Sad
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #7
(2014-03-02 12:22)Rebecca Wrote:  To elaborate, I have the same issue in Frodo and in Gotham. The 7.1 audio plays like it's supposed to, but the program doesn't display it correctly.

Sometimes I wonder that the reason why nobody ever responds to my posts is because I'm not a guy.
Sorry, but this is not a male only forum. In fact, I helped a lady to build her first HTPC in this forum several years ago. Getting back to your question, we don't reply to a thread because we don't have answer for it. For most of us, as long as it display, decode and process audio correctly on our AVR, we learned to ignore what it displayed on XBMC....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,639
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 265
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #8
(2014-03-02 12:22)Rebecca Wrote:  Sometimes I wonder that the reason why nobody ever responds to my posts is because I'm not a guy.

If it makes you feel better, I normally assume everyone is a guy, even if they have a girl's name. Or rather, I assume everyone is an "it" because I never 100% trust what is said on the internet.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
live4ever Offline
Fan
Posts: 666
Joined: Sep 2006
Reputation: 6
Post: #9
Export the library (Settings>Video) then edit the "streamdetails" to 8 channels for audio in the nfo file. Refresh the info and use local content.

[Image: 2ToixbA.png]
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,639
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 265
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #10
(2014-03-03 04:35)live4ever Wrote:  Export the library (Settings>Video) then edit the "streamdetails" to 8 channels for audio in the nfo file. Refresh the info and use local content.

XBMC will update streamdetails the next time it plays the video, so that won't actually help.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote