Req Play Using: Serve Multiple Files Simultaneously
Given that "Play Using" allows for the renderering of media files to be offloaded to another destination, thus relieving the xbmc host of doing the heavy lifting for audio/video playback, it stands to reason that xbmc should be able to serve multiple renderers.

Thus I would like to select "Play Using" for a CD to the stereo unit that plays a tune or two whilst I cook in the kitchen and at the same time be able to do "Play Using" and play a movie back to the TV in the living room. And so on throughout the house.

A single instance of xbmc becomes the focal point of media in my house.

What's not to love about that?
It would add some significant complication to XBMC's UPnP controller and UI to have two playback controls. I don't know the details, not being a developer myself, but I don't think I've seen any UPnP app that did multi targets (I haven't looked that hard, so they could very well exist).

However, this is possible using a second UPnP controller. Basically UPnP can be divided into three parts:

Source files -> Controller -> Playback

XBMC can be one, two, or even all three of these. In this case XBMC would be "Source files" and "Playback" (Playback being a second XBMC device, I assume?), but the controller would be something like one of the various UPnP control apps for iOS or Android, for example. That could be the music controller, then XBMC itself could be the controller for movies.

The single XBMC "Source files" would still be serving everyone up.
As NedScott has pointed out the main problem is that XBMC currently does not support multiple players being active at the same time because it makes the user interface a nightmare. You need some way to control the players and having multiple player controls on the screen would probably be very confusing.