Windows - Universal Movie Scraper "Unable to connect..." non-stop error

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wildonrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

Universal scraper was working fantastically for months but now I am getting the error "Unable to connect to remote server. Would you like to continue scanning?" for all movies. If I click Yes, it goes to the next movie and fails again. If I say No, then it gives up and no scraping happens.

Windows 81, Frodo 12.3.

I tried Gotham 13.0 nightly and it gave the same error. Here's a screenshot:

[Image: xbmc_zps35e06344.png]

Version: 20110904-bb1417b
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Display: Samsung LN52B750 52" 240Hz LCD HDTV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ
Graphics: PNY XLR8 Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
find quote
wildonrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Sorry to bump the thread....but anyone have any ideas?

Version: 20110904-bb1417b
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Display: Samsung LN52B750 52" 240Hz LCD HDTV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ
Graphics: PNY XLR8 Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
find quote
thrak76 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,380
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: Lake Michigan Shoreline
Post: #3
No problem here with Universal scraper. Care to provide some more details, and a debug log?
find quote
wildonrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2014-03-07 05:31)thrak76 Wrote:  No problem here with Universal scraper. Care to provide some more details, and a debug log?

Ok it looks like it's happening with every scraper and in every version of XBMC. I've made sure XBMC is allowed in the firewall. What else could it be?

Version: 20110904-bb1417b
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Display: Samsung LN52B750 52" 240Hz LCD HDTV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ
Graphics: PNY XLR8 Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
find quote
enozten Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Exact same thing is happening to me. All versions of XBMC, all scrapers. Here's the log:

-- Mod Edit. No log snippets. Only full debug logs, please. Use xbmclogs.com or pastebin.com.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-18 01:46 by thrak76.)
find quote
enozten Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I think I have the solution for you. I just figured it out (on my computer at least)! Turn of http blocking on peer block. I think the last update automatically turnedit on.

Good luck!
find quote
thoorm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Got the same issue, I cant upgrade library, I get the "unable to connect to remote server"
However I can update one series at a time. A bit frustrating if you got a couple of them.
My XBMC installation is on a OSX Mavericks machine though.

Code:
15:38:23 T:4607750144 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 22
15:38:23 T:4607750144 WARNING: FillBuffer: Reconnect, (re)try 1
15:38:24 T:4607750144 WARNING: FillBuffer: curl failed with code 22
15:38:24 T:4607750144   ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Open, didn't get any data from stream.
15:38:24 T:4607750144   ERROR: Run: Unable to parse web site
15:38:26 T:4607750144  NOTICE: VideoInfoScanner: Finished scan. Scanning for video info took 00:08

This has been for over a week. No issues earlier.
find quote
wildonrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
(2014-03-18 06:03)enozten Wrote:  I think I have the solution for you. I just figured it out (on my computer at least)! Turn of http blocking on peer block. I think the last update automatically turnedit on.

Good luck!

Where is this setting?

Version: 20110904-bb1417b
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Display: Samsung LN52B750 52" 240Hz LCD HDTV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ
Graphics: PNY XLR8 Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
find quote
thrak76 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,380
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: Lake Michigan Shoreline
Post: #9
(2014-03-23 02:45)wildonrio Wrote:  
(2014-03-18 06:03)enozten Wrote:  I think I have the solution for you. I just figured it out (on my computer at least)! Turn of http blocking on peer block. I think the last update automatically turnedit on.

Good luck!

Where is this setting?

Are you running PeerBlock? That's not a component or setting of/within XBMC.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-23 07:29 by thrak76.)
find quote
thoorm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Im not running PeerBlock, so for me it must be something else :/
find quote
wildonrio Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2014-03-23 16:52)thoorm Wrote:  Im not running PeerBlock, so for me it must be something else :/

Me neither. It's something else. No scraper works anymore, and not even the Gotham beta fixes the problem. My room mates are rapidly losing faith in XBMC having this annoying error in their face whenever they launch it. I'm at a loss.

Version: 20110904-bb1417b
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
Display: Samsung LN52B750 52" 240Hz LCD HDTV
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ
Graphics: PNY XLR8 Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT
Memory: CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
find quote
thrak76 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,380
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 25
Location: Lake Michigan Shoreline
Post: #12
Yet, NO ONE has posted a debug log...
find quote
thoorm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Hello guys, I got an update to my issue after some debugging. I have an answer for myself(and perhaps for other) experiencing the same issue.

Previously I ran a script every night to update my XBMC library without any issues.
This is the content of that script:

Code:
#!/usr/bin/bash
curl -i -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X POST -d "{\"jsonrpc\": \"2.0\",\"method\": \"VideoLibrary.Scan\"}" http://username:password@192.168.0.103:8080/jsonrpc

However, for the last two weeks it has not worked as it previously did. Now it would simply stop at "Could not download information: Unable to connect to remote server. Would you like to continue scanning?"
I just discovered if I clicked yes enough times(about 15times!) it would finally scan the whole library without any issues!
The reason for why it stopped scanning and giving me the yes/no input? Well its because of 15 old movies I have in my library which may have some misspelled names etc.

So something has happened these two last weeks, since it would ignore those 15 movies before and just scan the whole library.

I use Rotten Tomatoes metascraper and The Movie Database for my series.
I googled the Rotten Tomatoes metascraper and found the following (very old!) thread:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=98195

It seems that its depreciated and recommending Universal Movie Scraper.
I removed the Rotten Tomatoes metascraper and changed it to another scraper - voila, it works!

Hopefully this can help others.
find quote