Xbmcbuntu 13 Testing Thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,029
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #46
neither gdebi nor synaptic are needed. Use dpkg to install one off packages and apt-get to install anything in the repos.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
LAS0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #47
In relation to Synaptic:

I am also unable to start it from GUI - only sudo synaptic works. (In previous builds there wasn't such problem.) I have tried command synaptic-pkexec and got this:
Code:
==== AUTHENTICATING FOR com.ubuntu.pkexec.synaptic ===
Authentication is required to run the Synaptic Package Manager
Authenticating as: LiLa,,, (lila)
Password:

Maybe it has something to do with the user rights because I have had also problem to eject DVD within XBMC (no response). After exiting to XBMCbuntu I've got message:
Code:
Not authorized to perform operation
(BTW: the same message also for USB stick trying to eject.) Using command eject in command line returns:
Code:
eject: unable to find or open device for: `cdrom'
After restart directly to XBMCbuntu all is working fine. I can try to reproduce this and provide log file if you are interested.
find quote
LAS0 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
Another topic: Multiple displays during installation

It was a coincidence - I have connected my computer monitor to HTPC (via HDMI) which is usualy connected only to data-projector via VGA. After some work I have decided to make a fresh install of the last XBMCbuntu 13. And I have ended with light blue screen with Debian logo... Luckily I have noticed, that my mouse cursor is able to hide somewhere in the left upper corner of the monitor. I have turned my data-projector on and voila! - the installation dialog of XBMCbuntu was waiting there for me :-D
So, I don't want to analyze this hardly. Just want to advice/ask to prepare instalation media to work with more then one video outputs in "display clone" mode so each possible video output will show the same :-)
find quote
der_magus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Bremen/Germany
Post: #49
hi,
great work, but i'm experiencing audio issues.

Hardware: Asus eeebox EB1501 (Atom D330 & Nvidia ION)

I use HDMI only, and Passthrough isn't working anymore. I only get Stereo or Multichannel with disordered channels at best.

any hints ?

regards

magus
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,226
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 131
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #50
If by passthrough you mean anything HD wise, the ion doesnt support any.
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,877
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #51
(2014-03-23 18:19)der_magus Wrote:  hi,
great work, but i'm experiencing audio issues.

Hardware: Asus eeebox EB1501 (Atom D330 & Nvidia ION)

I use HDMI only, and Passthrough isn't working anymore. I only get Stereo or Multichannel with disordered channels at best.

any hints ?

regards

magus

Please read the very first post and act accordingly. Also read the release announcement. No one can look into its crystal ball to see why your computer is not working.
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-23 19:10 by fritsch.)
find quote
der_magus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Bremen/Germany
Post: #52
(2014-03-23 19:10)fritsch Wrote:  Please read the very first post and act accordingly. Also read the release announcement. No one can look into its crystal ball to see why your computer is not working.

sorry, my fault.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142113/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142097/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142098/
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-23 19:51 by der_magus.)
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,877
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #53
And xbmc.log please.
find quote
LSU Jonno Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #54
Quote:I have to start Synaptic in a terminal with sudo synaptic.

Same here.

Also, my fonts are freaking huge. Was that done intentionally by default to try to make it a 10ft interface?
find quote
der_magus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Bremen/Germany
Post: #55
(2014-03-23 20:04)fritsch Wrote:  And xbmc.log please.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142689/
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,029
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #56
(2014-03-23 18:23)uNiversal Wrote:  If by passthrough you mean anything HD wise, the ion doesnt support any.
I think it depends whether it is ION or ION2, and the terms are used pretty loosely by many people.

His log, starting at Line 77, shows a device with HD codecs enabled.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,877
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #57
(2014-03-23 21:21)der_magus Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 20:04)fritsch Wrote:  And xbmc.log please.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142689/

You have 100% wrongly configured your asound.conf / .asoundrc and is therefore shot broken. Those files are not created by xbmcbuntu v13. Please remove those and link me to the pseudo howto that suggests them.
find quote
der_magus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Bremen/Germany
Post: #58
(2014-03-23 21:52)fritsch Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 21:21)der_magus Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 20:04)fritsch Wrote:  And xbmc.log please.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142689/

You have 100% wrongly configured your asound.conf / .asoundrc and is therefore shot broken. Those files are not created by xbmcbuntu v13. Please remove those and link me to the pseudo howto that suggests them.

actually i didn't configure anything at all.
mostly a clean install with updates installed afterwards.
almost trying to get things to work

(2014-03-23 21:45)nickr Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 18:23)uNiversal Wrote:  If by passthrough you mean anything HD wise, the ion doesnt support any.
I think it depends whether it is ION or ION2, and the terms are used pretty loosely by many people.

His log, starting at Line 77, shows a device with HD codecs enabled.

ION "1"
i'm not expecting dts-hd, or something', but dts and ac3 should work with passthrough/bitstream out over hdmi
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 00:45 by der_magus.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,029
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #59
(2014-03-24 00:40)der_magus Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 21:52)fritsch Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 21:21)der_magus Wrote:  http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142689/

You have 100% wrongly configured your asound.conf / .asoundrc and is therefore shot broken. Those files are not created by xbmcbuntu v13. Please remove those and link me to the pseudo howto that suggests them.

actually i didn't configure anything at all.
mostly a clean install with updates installed afterwards.
almost trying to get things to work

(2014-03-23 21:45)nickr Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 18:23)uNiversal Wrote:  If by passthrough you mean anything HD wise, the ion doesnt support any.
I think it depends whether it is ION or ION2, and the terms are used pretty loosely by many people.

His log, starting at Line 77, shows a device with HD codecs enabled.

ION "1"
i'm not expecting dts-hd, or something', but dts and ac3 should work with passthrough/bitstream out over hdmi
Indeed it should!

Perhaps you need to see if something has put a /etc/asound.conf or ~/.asoundrc in your system.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,601
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 86
Post: #60
(2014-03-23 21:52)fritsch Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 21:21)der_magus Wrote:  
(2014-03-23 20:04)fritsch Wrote:  And xbmc.log please.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7142689/

You have 100% wrongly configured your asound.conf / .asoundrc and is therefore shot broken. Those files are not created by xbmcbuntu v13. Please remove those and link me to the pseudo howto that suggests them.

he's innocent, sorry about that. https://github.com/xbmc/XBMCbuntu/commit...627cd700be

@der_magus: please delete /etc/xbmc/setup.d/04-configNVIDIAasoundrc.sh, /etc/xbmc/setup.d/05-configAMDFusionasoundrc.sh and ~/.asoundrc
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-24 07:59 by wsnipex.)
find quote
Post Reply