Xbmcbuntu 13 Testing Thread

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,576
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 167
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #376
(2014-09-04 20:29)-DDD- Wrote:  
(2014-08-03 12:25)nssk Wrote:  The download link for the i386 build is broken Sad

Here is an Mirror http://mirror.transip.net/xbmc/releases/XBMCbuntu/

There is no 32bit available.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
-DDD- Offline
Fan
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 8
Post: #377
http://mirror.transip.net/xbmc/releases/...4_i386.iso should be the same like RC1 32Bit from 1. Post here?!

| myHTPC |
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-04 21:41 by -DDD-.)
find quote
lic.pedro_lerma Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #378
I have a problem reading the mp3 + cdg files does not show the letter to someone can help me, my version is Sad:(xbmcubuntu
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #379
Yeah, stop whining and post your Debug Log

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Soli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #380
Just got back my old Mac mini 2006, and thought I might as well install XBMCbuntu on it. The CPU is upgraded from a CoreDuo 1,66Ghz to Core2Duo 2,33, and I have also put a small SSD inside. I didn't manage to install from a DVDR since the DVD Drive was defect, and I couldn't install from a usb stick either since the first Mac minis are limited to only EFI booting from USB. (It will only emulate a BIOS when booting from the internal Sata header). Since the EFI firmware is 32bit I couldn't boot XBMCbuntu with EFI either since booting a 64bit kernel requires a 64bit EFI firmware. Using EFI Mixed Mode isn't an option since this requires a kernel => 3.15

Fortunately the Mac mini, as all Macs, have a Target Disk Mode, which essentially turns the mac into an external firewire disk. I then used my Mac mini as a firewire disk, connected to another Mac and then I installed XBMCbuntu to my firewire disk (Mac mini) using Virtual Box is raw disk mode.
Almost surprisingly, that worked perfectly. XBMCbuntu works beautifully from the first boot. I wanted to use my Apple remote, so I removed Lirc and built Atvclient (a forked version that also supports the IR receiver in the Mac mini 2006). Works without any configuration.
Very surprisingly, the old Mac mini with the Intel GPU supports all the frame rates like 23,976 29,97 59,94 + the usual 24 25 30 50 60. I could install a Crystal HD card, but the support for this card was removed from Kodi so I rather not bother. Fortunately software decoding works without a hitch. Am I right to believe that the new multithreaded software decoding makes even the very first Mac mini 2006 Coreduo 1,66ghz suitable for 1080p playback? If anyone else has an old Mac mini laying around, then this actually makes for a very fine XBMC.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-17 14:34 by Soli.)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 94
Post: #381
kudos for the creativity getting it installed.
Multithreading for software decoding will indeed help a lot. Would be interesting what kind of cpu load get get with a 1080p bluray (rip)
find quote
Soli Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #382
16:9 1080p doesn't even sweat it, although the fan will spin up a little. the CPU is typically around 100% (of 200%) with varying degrees of cpu use of the 2 cores, but mostly both cores together would total around 100%. Big Buck Bunny @ 1080p/60fps plays fine with literally a couple of dropped frames in a few of the scenes. It typically stays around 85/85 for the 2 cores, and goes up to the high 90s in the most difficult scenes.
find quote
ezechiel1917 Offline
Aeon Group
Posts: 742
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Post: #383
Sometime in the process of doing apt-get upgrades I've lost an option to log on to XBMCbuntu.
By default xbmc autologins to xbmc gui which is what I want. But when I exit XBMC logon dialogue is now missing an option where I was previously able to specify where to logon: xbmcbuntu or xbmc (it's just username+password now and starts xbmc gui after entering credentials).
Is there a way to manually bring back the option where to logon?

Thanks for any help.

XBMCbuntu 13.0 | XBMC PRE-14.0 | VDR + VNSI @ Technotrend CT-3650 CI | Transparency! skin | trakt.tv
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 94
Post: #384
the 1st post explains how to switch to the desktop. Did you select the xbmcbuntu session?
find quote
ezechiel1917 Offline
Aeon Group
Posts: 742
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Czech Republic
Post: #385
Thanks, that worked! Previous method was faster and more intuitive but I guess it's changed on system level.

XBMCbuntu 13.0 | XBMC PRE-14.0 | VDR + VNSI @ Technotrend CT-3650 CI | Transparency! skin | trakt.tv
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,011
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 163
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #386
Its just a different place to choose the session.

An unfortunate one because it is not as obvious, and people with overscanned displays tend to lose the icon off the edge of the screen.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #387
http://mirror.transip.net/xbmc/releases/...4_i386.iso <- here is a working 32 bit link

Perhaps wsnipex, can you update the 1st post?

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Post Reply