Mac OS X - Trouble with downloading XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pattinolder Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Sad  Trouble with downloading XBMC
Post: #1
My imac computer is OSX 10.9.2 , 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5.
Having downloaded xbmc gotham 13 a few weeks ago, I changed my mind as had a few problems & deleted it (everything on my mac) as I wanted to download Frodo 12.3 instead & start again. I did this but each time it came to installing Frodo & moving it to applications the only icon that came up was the Gotham black on instead of the yellow Frodo 12.3 which showed on my desktop after downloading. Its as though it will not let me install Frodo. I made sure everything xbmc was put in trash including all folders etc first. Im at my wits end, can anyone help me hereConfused tyvm
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 857
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #2
You say you deleted all xbmc folders. Does that also include the folders in your user library? The user library is hidden usually and the xbmc folders won't normally show up in searches.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,629
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #3
There is no yellow xbmc icon. You are refering to the yellos dmg mount icon which is unrelated to frodo or gotham.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
pattinolder Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Oh...so are you saying that although it is the yellow dmg icon on my desktop before installing & that after installing Frodo 12.3 is represented as a black logo with the arrow pointing to applications to put it in there? A couple of times I tried that & I just got gotham 13 again although that was not what I downloaded!
However I will give it another try Memphiz & let you know, thank you.

The same has just happened again, can only get Gotham 13. Don't understand as I have only downloaded Frodo 12.3!
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-27 18:35 by pattinolder.)
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,629
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #5
your are clicking the wrong dmg - unmount all dmgs (in finder hit all eject buttons at the left side) and then ensure to only double click the frodo dmg

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-28 00:02 by Memphiz.)
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 857
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #6
(2014-03-27 18:34)pattinolder Wrote:  The same has just happened again, can only get Gotham 13. Don't understand as I have only downloaded Frodo 12.3!
When you drag the xbmc icon to the applications folder you get a popup message that you are replacing a newer version of xbmc with an older one, and it asks you which one you want to keep. Which button do you click?

Edit: My mistake. You stated earlier that you had already deleted previous versions of the app.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
(This post was last modified: 2014-03-27 19:37 by wgstarks.)
find quote
pattinolder Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Hi Memphiz, Didn't get back to you as internet off until today. I have deleted last download of frodo so have no dmgs & no eject buttons. If I download frodo again I click the frodo dmg (there is only one thing to click) on my desktop, & as before it will install then give me the icon for gotham to put in applications. Shall I give it one more try?

Downloaded 12.3-x86_64 dmg again but same thing happens Double click the frodo image but still puts gotham ready to go in applications folder, its like it won't let me put frodo on my computer. I even tried downloading just OSX but couldn't read that at all (that was last week after I kept having this problem) I'm dumbfounded.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 10,629
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 112
Location: germany
Post: #8
Once again - there is no different icon between frodo and gotham... You can check the installed version in XBMC (highlight system and go to "system information" - you see the version in the lower right corner).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 857
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #9
(2014-04-01 12:10)pattinolder Wrote:  Hi Memphiz, Didn't get back to you as internet off until today. I have deleted last download of frodo so have no dmgs & no eject buttons. If I download frodo again I click the frodo dmg (there is only one thing to click) on my desktop, & as before it will install then give me the icon for gotham to put in applications. Shall I give it one more try?

Downloaded 12.3-x86_64 dmg again but same thing happens Double click the frodo image but still puts gotham ready to go in applications folder, its like it won't let me put frodo on my computer. I even tried downloading just OSX but couldn't read that at all (that was last week after I kept having this problem) I'm dumbfounded.

Your terminology is confusing. When you download the installer and open it you will see a widow which contains an icon for XBMC (whichever version you downloaded) and an arrow pointing to another icon for your applications folder. Nothing has been installed yet. In order to install the XBMC software you must drag the XBMC icon to the applications folder icon. This action will install the software (whichever version you downloaded).

Once again, you must drag the XBMC icon to the Applications Folder icon.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.0/Aeon Nox 5.0/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote