Mac OS X - Updating to 12.3 Trashes Library

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
476429 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #1
I'm trying to update from v11.0 to v12.3. When I launch 12.3, it builds a completely new library. It rescans my files, re-scrapes, and re-downloads all of the artwork and video info. This, of course, trashes all of the custom artwork and video info I have set up.

Why is it doing this? How do I prevent it from happening?

Thanks

XBMC 11.0 -> 12.3
Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5
Mac mini Mid 2011 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #2
1. Make sure you have "auto update library on startup" turned off.

2. Start up 12.3 and go into Videos. It will prompt you that it needs to update the artwork. This does NOT re-download art, it simply re-caches it.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
476429 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #3
Thanks for the info, I'll give it a try.
find quote
476429 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: U.S.A.
Question  RE: Updating to 12.3 Trashes Library
Post: #4
(2014-03-28 22:42)jmarshall Wrote:  1. Make sure you have "auto update library on startup" turned off.

2. Start up 12.3 and go into Videos. It will prompt you that it needs to update the artwork. This does NOT re-download art, it simply re-caches it.

I did this and it never prompted me to update the artwork. I went to Videos. Then I tried Movies. Then I tried TV Shows. No prompt. If I manually tell it to update the library, it rescrapes and trashes all of my custom art and info.

Anything else I can try?

Thanks
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #5
Probably because you have an updated database sitting there already. Delete it. MyVideos75.db I think it is (off the top of my head).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
476429 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: U.S.A.
Post: #6
That worked. Thanks!
find quote