Amazon Fire TV for XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 9 Votes - 4.78 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
King_o_hill Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3826
(Today 05:58)nickr Wrote:  
(Today 05:19)King_o_hill Wrote:  I realize this is my first post, but I have been reading here for the past several weeks. I am just at my wits end with this Fire TV and I'm strongly considering smashing it with a hammer! I have tried every version of XBMC known to man, but I can't get any kind of smooth playback or streaming. I have XBMC setup on another computer on my network and it works great from there. I can even unplug my Fire TV and plug in a BlueRay player and the BR will play my movies and TV shows through UPnP without any problems. Please help me. I am willing to start anywhere, even if I have to wipe this FTV and start all over again. I have more hours in this than you can imagine. TIA
Are you on wireless or wired network?

Wired network.
find quote
Richie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3827
(Today 06:32)King_o_hill Wrote:  
(Today 05:58)nickr Wrote:  
(Today 05:19)King_o_hill Wrote:  I realize this is my first post, but I have been reading here for the past several weeks. I am just at my wits end with this Fire TV and I'm strongly considering smashing it with a hammer! I have tried every version of XBMC known to man, but I can't get any kind of smooth playback or streaming. I have XBMC setup on another computer on my network and it works great from there. I can even unplug my Fire TV and plug in a BlueRay player and the BR will play my movies and TV shows through UPnP without any problems. Please help me. I am willing to start anywhere, even if I have to wipe this FTV and start all over again. I have more hours in this than you can imagine. TIA
Are you on wireless or wired network?

Wired network.

Is mediacodec disabled in the settings in acceleration (only only libstagefright enabled)?
Are you using passthrough?
Mediainfo of one of the files that is causing issues?
find quote
King_o_hill Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3828
Mediacodec = off
Libstagefright = on

Not sure about passthrough, is this in XBMC or on the FTV?

Really not sure about the Mediainfo.

Please bare with me, I pick it up quick and am rather techie, I'm just new to XBMC.
find quote
Richie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3829
(Today 06:49)King_o_hill Wrote:  Mediacodec = off
Libstagefright = on

Not sure about passthrough, is this in XBMC or on the FTV?

Really not sure about the Mediainfo.

Please bare with me, I pick it up quick and am rather techie, I'm just new to XBMC.

Passthrough is in the XBMC settings under audio (you'll need to have the settings set to 'expert').

Forget that for now, can you download MediaInfo from http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo and run that on one of your problem files and past the output here?
find quote
MaxieWagner Online
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3830
(Today 05:19)King_o_hill Wrote:  I realize this is my first post, but I have been reading here for the past several weeks. I am just at my wits end with this Fire TV and I'm strongly considering smashing it with a hammer! I have tried every version of XBMC known to man, but I can't get any kind of smooth playback or streaming. I have XBMC setup on another computer on my network and it works great from there. I can even unplug my Fire TV and plug in a BlueRay player and the BR will play my movies and TV shows through UPnP without any problems. Please help me. I am willing to start anywhere, even if I have to wipe this FTV and start all over again. I have more hours in this than you can imagine. TIA

If you are on a wired network and have decent speed, I would seriously consider returning the Fire TV you are about to smash with a hammer: There is clearly something defective.

If you have indeed been paying attention to this forum, you could not help but come away with the impression that most everyone is pretty thrilled with their FIRE TV's… me included.

However, there are lemons in every batch and before I'd spend even another minute anguishing over the FTV in your possession, I'd go ahead and switch it out -- if you can.

If you cannot, I would do a a complete refresh of the Amazon TV and, of course, a fresh XBMC install and see if that helps.

You didn't say which version of XBMC you're running, but, personally, I have found that the SMPC versions work best for me…. 13.2 being the latest.
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 7,386
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 125
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #3831
Also if you really want help with your problem, post a debug log to pastebin.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Richie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3832
(Today 10:18)nickr Wrote:  Also if you really want help with your problem, post a debug log to pastebin.

This.

But I also have a feeling that he might be watching content with an unsupported codec...that's just my hunch.

Also, I'm fairly new to Android and understand it can't do 24p (mostly) and definitely can't change refresh rate on the fly, but the newest 'L' release of Android has specifications built in to change the refresh rate, so a couple of questions:
1. Will this be what we're waiting for to make XBMC for Android 24p compatible?
2. Would the FireTV get an update with the new Android L, or does backwards compability for Android not usually work like that?
find quote
jocala Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 4
Post: #3833
(Today 05:38)Richie Wrote:  
(2014-07-18 20:26)jocala Wrote:  [Image: ssdir.png]

(above: vfat,exfat,ntfs and ext4 drives connected to my fire tv)

http://www.jocala.com/adbfire.html

adbFire 1.02 changelog

addition of ntfs-3g for mounting ntfs media
addition of mount.exfat-fuse for mounting exfat media
addition of mounting for ext2,ext3,ext4 media
mount now addresses all connected USB media, not just /dev/block/sda
edit of help file to reflect mount changes
screen shots saved to unique filename

This is a good time to say, thanks. I have zero experience in Android and bought a FireTV recently. Your app made it ridiculously easy to root and get XBMC on it. So really, thanks heaps!

Thanks for the kind words Smile
find quote
hdmkv Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #3834
+1, easy-to-use, useful tool jocala.
find quote
poplap Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #3835
(Today 10:50)Richie Wrote:  
(Today 10:18)nickr Wrote:  Also if you really want help with your problem, post a debug log to pastebin.
Also, I'm fairly new to Android and understand it can't do 24p (mostly) and definitely can't change refresh rate on the fly, but the newest 'L' release of Android has specifications built in to change the refresh rate, so a couple of questions:
1. Will this be what we're waiting for to make XBMC for Android 24p compatible?
2. Would the FireTV get an update with the new Android L, or does backwards compability for Android not usually work like that?

yes...

In all seriousness though Amazon would want to update it, though sense android L has TV functionality I can image that they would take advantage of it. There will probably be some API that will give access to the refresh rate changing and that is all XBMC would theoretically need to use to be able to control it.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]

Raspberry Pi Model B 512MB @ 1.1Ghz w/ USB Storage
FreeNAS Server w/ 2TB of Moves/TV Shows
find quote
bunglebungle Online
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3836
(2014-07-20 02:48)breezytm Wrote:  Everything works for me. Live TV Works 90%.

What's the missing 10%? 1080i mpeg2 hardware deinterlacing? Is it unwatchable or just poor compared to, say, VDPAU? I've been following and reports are rather mixed.
find quote
Post Reply