Linux Suggested Hardware / Software Upgrade[s] for HTPC
Question 
I've been running XBMC for a few years now and have tended to play it safe by always being a few releases behind as I use the machine daily for playing watching Sky News, music + streaming to other devices in the house, movie playback and a bit of streaming.

My current setup consists of the following:-

Motherboard: ABIT AB9 Pro
CPU: Intel C2D E6600 @ 2.4GHz
RAM: 5GB
GPU: 256MB nVidia Geforce 8400GS G86 revision - 304.116 driver
Tv Tuner Card: A TechnoTrend for Freeview
Primary HDD: 36GB WD Raptor
Secondary HDDs: 2 x 200GB + 2 x 250GB
PSU: Corsair 430w CX
Monitor: Samsung 42" LCD via VGA + Audio Jack
Connectivity: TP-Link 450MB/s PCI, using Qualcomm Atheros AR9227 driver
XBMC: 12.3 Git: 9ed3e58 (compiled Dec 13 2013)
Remote: Android > XBMC Remote

Overall I'm fairly happy with how things run but I appreciate things move on and I can't help but feel that my setup could be improved. Some annoyances are Aeon Nox not performing particularly well on my machine whilst navigating through the library. Blu-ray playback isn't always fantastic either and I've tried to fine tune the video settings based on various threads I've come across over time, but I still see jitter and dropped frames. XBMC itself seems to suffer from the occasional hang or crash on my machine which can be annoying.