Reusing existing skin artwork
Dear fellow skinners,

It is my first time skinning anything with XBMC, so my apologies if this has been answered elsewhere. A search did not help me find an answer.

For my addon XBMC File Cleaner I have made a custom dialog that displays the contents of a log file (see the image below). In one of the stickies in this forum it says:
Quote:in case you're not a gifted graphic designer, there is a lot of open source artwork available you can include in your skin.
please remember, it is 'not ok' to just include whatever artwork you found on the internet that could be copyrighted.
I looked through the forum referred to in the sticky, but it appears there are hardly any images I can use as backgrounds for the window, the buttons and the scrollbar, as they are mostly just pictures of something random to use as backdrops. Since I use the Aeon Nox skin for my personal XBMC installation I then downloaded the nice background it provided for the dialog from its Github page. I would like to know if this is allowed, where and how I need to give credit, or where I must look to find suitable replacement artwork if it is not allowed.

Thanks in advance,
Anthirian

Hello,

I know your post is almost 2 weeks old, but I was wondering if you solved your problem.

I'm currently working on a skin myself and I'm doing my own artwork, from buttons and dialogs to backgrounds (to avoid copyright issues). So if you'd like, I could try to make some graphics (buttons, scrollbar and dialog backgrounds) for you and you can use them freely if you think they suit your skin.

An alternative solution would be to contact the creator of Aeon Nox and ask if you can use their artwork, if you haven't done that already.
I think that some skinners who use artwork from other skins give credit when they post the skin/wip on the forum writing "This skin uses artwork from [...] skin" or something similar.