AMD AM1 SOC Platform Discussion

  Thread Rating:
  • 2 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
stammie Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 6
Post: #91
The temp on mine in the bios is 32C, but I have mine in a mATX case, a very small one but I think its probably still got better air flow than a small ITX case
find quote
plasmasnake Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #92
My Athlon 5350 + Asus AM1I-A are arriving Tuesday. I received my Realan E-I7 case, and they sent me the black one instead of the silver one that I asked for. Sigh... At least it looks nicer, but I wanted silver since it would hide scratches better. I got the USB 3.0 panel, so I guess I'll need to grab an adapter off of ebay since the motherboard doesn't have USB 3.0 header ports.
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,494
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #93
(2014-05-16 00:18)plasmasnake Wrote:  My Athlon 5350 + Asus AM1I-A are arriving Tuesday. I received my Realan E-I7 case, and they sent me the black one instead of the silver one that I asked for. Sigh... At least it looks nicer, but I wanted silver since it would hide scratches better. I got the USB 3.0 panel, so I guess I'll need to grab an adapter off of ebay since the motherboard doesn't have USB 3.0 header ports.

I just looked and I only have the black left otherwise I'd be willing to swap you. If you want a USB2.0 front panel instead I can help you with that.
find quote
plasmasnake Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #94
Thanks for the offer Dougie, I appreciate it. I found this adapter: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-USB-2-0-9Pin...1017073704

If I'm looking at it right, I assume it'll solve my problem? Maybe that'll help others too since I think none of the AM1 boards have USB 3.0 headers.

Honestly I like the look of the black one. Any idea how resilient these are to scratching with daily use? Do I have to act all paranoid and not let anything touch it? lol
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,494
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #95
You'd have to really try and scratch it. And, if you do, you can touch it up with a Sharpie pen.

The AM1H-ITX has a USB3.0 header: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6813157491
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-16 04:33 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
plasmasnake Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #96
Sounds good - I guess life's too short to worry about a scratch on a PC case anyway.

I ordered the internal USB 3.0 to 2.0 adapter cable for $1.33 (cheapest I could see on ebay): http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-2-0-9Pin-Mot...3cd9bda0f4

Should arrive in about a month...

And interesting RE: the ASRock board. It seems it's all give and take with these AM1 ITX boards. Looks like that ASRock is the most fully featured though. I got the Asus due to the reliability issues being reported here about the MSI, and also because the Asus seems to overclock nicely. Strangely though, the MSI has a mPCIe slot whereas the Asus doesn't. Also, the Asus is the only one with a heatsink over the VRMs.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-16 07:09 by plasmasnake.)
find quote
Saskue Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #97
Using the 5350 with the MSI am1 motherboard being using it for about a week I had no problems at all ,everything is working perfectly
find quote
ertman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #98
(2014-05-16 03:46)plasmasnake Wrote:  Thanks for the offer Dougie, I appreciate it. I found this adapter: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-USB-2-0-9Pin...1017073704

If I'm looking at it right, I assume it'll solve my problem? Maybe that'll help others too since I think none of the AM1 boards have USB 3.0 headers.

...

Interesting they didn't include a usb 3.0 header on the motherboard. I guess the figured that the front usb would just be for playback and not storage/transfers. The adapter should allow you to easily connect the front usb to the board at 2.0 speeds, so this will be helpful to those in a similar predicament. The base ASrock itx (am1b) has a usb 3.0 header.
find quote
plasmasnake Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #99
Can anybody help me figure out why I can't install the stock heatsink? I don't get it, I've installed dozens of heatsinks, but I can't figure this one out. I'm trying to figure out how to get the plastic pushpins through the circular holes in the heatsink. I pushed pretty hard but they don't go all the way through, and I'm afraid I'm going to break the pins.

I found this instructional video from MSI, but they already have the pins inside the heatsink (grr): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s--YUBNkHc8
find quote
plasmasnake Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #100
OK so it turns out I just had to push harder. I really was worried that I would break it. But anyway, I took care of that now.

But the bad luck continues... My 120W AC adapter is dead. The light on it doesn't turn on, and of course the PC doesn't turn on. To make sure it was the AC adapter that was dead, and not the motherboard, I plugged in an ATX power supply and it booted up just fine.

Lesson learned: Never rely on Chinese brand AC adapters. This whole experience with Realan has been simply horrible.

Edit: Dougie, could you confirm whether or not the barrel plug on this adapter would fit into my existing PSU?

http://www.mini-box.com/110w-12v-8-5A-AC...er-Adapter
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-17 02:48 by plasmasnake.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,494
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 82
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #101
(2014-05-17 02:43)plasmasnake Wrote:  Lesson learned: Never rely on Chinese brand AC adapters. This whole experience with Realan has been simply horrible.

The 120W AC adapters have always been very solid. I haven't had a single one returned. A few 84W have had issues but I think they were being pushed too hard. I replace them no questions asked (well, ok I help diagnose by asking questions but you know what I mean Smile). My E-i7 also has an upgraded 180W internal DC-DC powerboard with all solid caps. The default model doesn't.

(2014-05-17 02:43)plasmasnake Wrote:  Edit: Dougie, could you confirm whether or not the barrel plug on this adapter would fit into my existing PSU?

http://www.mini-box.com/110w-12v-8-5A-AC...er-Adapter

Yes, anything 12V with a 2.5mm * 5.5mm tip (what picoPSUs use) will work.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-17 04:27 by Dougie Fresh.)
find quote
nex9 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #102
Hiya I am in a process of buying a new HTPC, will XBMC work smoothy on this with Windows 8.1

Procesor: APU Desktop Athlon X4 5350 (2.05GHz,2MB,25W,AM1) box,
Motherboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 4Gb DDR3 1600
Graphic: Intergrated Radeon HD 8400.
Hard Drive: Wd Caviar Blue 1TB SATA, 7200o/min
Power: FSP200-50GSV-5K, 85+
Case: MS ZEPPELIN
WIFi: WiFi adapter 150Mbps

or with Intel

Procesor: Intel Quad-Core Processor J1900, 2GHz
Motherboard: Asrock Q1900-ITX, miniITX, DVI, VGA, USB3.0, Sata3
Memory: SODIMM RAM 4GB DDR3L 1600
Graphic: Integrated Intel (Gen 7), DirectX 11.0, Pixel Shader 5.0
Hard Drive: SSHD Seagate 1TB SATA3, 7200o/min
Optical: Slim DVDRW 8x SATA
Power: CFI 150W
Case: CFI CFI-A6819 Slim, miniITX

They are the same price in my country so i was just wonderind will it work for full HD movies and what is better.
find quote
lewzer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #103
(2014-05-17 09:08)nex9 Wrote:  or with Intel

Procesor: Intel Quad-Core Processor J1900, 2GHz
Motherboard: Asrock Q1900-ITX, miniITX, DVI, VGA, USB3.0, Sata3
Memory: SODIMM RAM 4GB DDR3L 1600
Graphic: Integrated Intel (Gen 7), DirectX 11.0, Pixel Shader 5.0
Hard Drive: SSHD Seagate 1TB SATA3, 7200o/min
Optical: Slim DVDRW 8x SATA
Power: CFI 150W
Case: CFI CFI-A6819 Slim, miniITX

They are the same price in my country so i was just wonderind will it work for full HD movies and what is better.

I've wrote a small review of my 3 days experience with Q1900-ITX in the Bay-Trail thread, you can read it here http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1712353
But to give you a tl;dr - it plays and does everything that I threw at it without any hiccups.
find quote
ertman Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #104
Looking at Pico PSUs, was wondering what would be the lowest recommended power supply for the 5350. I saw a good deal on a lower wattage one (80w), but I worry it might be too low and run too hot. The psu does not have a 4 pin, which my motherboard does not have either.

Scenario 1
Athlon 5350
SSD + HDD (2.5)

Scenario 2
Athlon 5350
SSD + HDD (2.5)
PCIe Tuner
find quote
LazerBlue Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 4
Location: Tampa, FL
Post: #105
(2014-05-17 02:43)plasmasnake Wrote:  OK so it turns out I just had to push harder. I really was worried that I would break it. But anyway, I took care of that now.

But the bad luck continues... My 120W AC adapter is dead. The light on it doesn't turn on, and of course the PC doesn't turn on. To make sure it was the AC adapter that was dead, and not the motherboard, I plugged in an ATX power supply and it booted up just fine.

Lesson learned: Never rely on Chinese brand AC adapters. This whole experience with Realan has been simply horrible.

Edit: Dougie, could you confirm whether or not the barrel plug on this adapter would fit into my existing PSU?

http://www.mini-box.com/110w-12v-8-5A-AC...er-Adapter

Just a suggestion, but have you tried using a different power cord to power the AC power supply? I've had power cords that were defective before brand new out of box. I used to bang my head against the wall trying to figure out why they things weren't working, and finally trying a new cord and it worked.
find quote
Post Reply