No playable files on TV
Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to read this. I am technical, but I am an XBMC noob. I am trying to use XBMC running on my PC to connect via DLNA to my Sony BDP-S590 and through this, to my TV. I can do this easily with Mezzmo, Servio, BubbleUPnP but I can't with XBMC. The XBMC server shows up on the TV in Music, Pictures and Video, and whichever I select I see folders. However, any folder I openI gives me the "No playable file" message.

There is content in all categories, and I can see and hear it on the PC running XBMC, but not on the TV. I have spent long hours working on this problem and reading all the wikis and I am getting nowhere. I must not have something incorrectly configured.

My setup:

Sony VAIO Pro 13 running Win 8.1 update 1 64-bit
XBMC 12.3 with the Confluence skin

Is there a resource someone can point me to troubleshoot this problem?

Thanks in advance.
Go to System -> Settings -> Services -> UPnP - make sure all entries here are checked (activated).
Settings level (at the bottom left of settings screen) will need to be at a minimum of "Advanced" to see all available options in this settings category.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge - please click the plus to the left below to give thanks
Thanks for the reply. My UPnP screen shows the following items selected:

Share videos and music libraries through UPnP
Announce library updates through UPnP
Allow control of XBMC through UPnP

Those are the only selections on that screen. I could not find the Settings level to determine if it is set to Advanced.
xbmc doesn't transcode files, so unless your bluray player supports the codec and format it won't play.

Please don't take this the wrong way, but trying to use dlna via your bluray player or TV is pointless.

DLNA is such a messed up "standard" that, no one fully supports it's just a massive waste of time. It's now just a gimmick to make the equipment seem more valuable.