Gotham Beta splitting up music albums

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
gotoman00 Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Florida
Music  Gotham Beta splitting up music albums
Post: #1
Hey all, some music albums with different editions that i've hacked together or that have bonus tracks i've added on later are now being split up by xbmc when they weren't before gotham. I've went through great lengths to make sure all the tags and artwork are the same between the files yet still they seem to be getting split up somehow. What's changed? How can i resolve this?

xbmc frodo | win 7 64-bit | 8gb ddr3 | amd fx 6100 (3.3x6) | zotac fermi gt430 | xbmc.4.life
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-19 19:33 by gotoman00.)
find quote
scott967 Offline
Fan
Posts: 678
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #2
It would help to give some examples and maybe a debug log when the library is scanned. And don't bother with less than beta 4, as too many changes from earlier betas. Note that Gotham now can use MusicBrainz album and artist IDs to guide scraping and that impacts how the library works.

scott s.
.
find quote
gaburko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I was having the same problem so i went back to frodo. Wmc and frodo see it all fine, gotham randomly splits songs onto two, sometimes even three "albums"
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #4
It's guaranteed to be because of the tags. In particular, if MBID's are present and inconsistent across tracks on the same album.

Post a couple of tracks that should be on the same album and aren't, and someone will no doubt show you what the problem with those tracks is.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
gotoman00 Offline
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Florida
Post: #5
it's definitely not the tags, but it probably is the MBID's, as i use picard to tag my albums initially and then use tag & rename after to tweak things... thanks!

xbmc frodo | win 7 64-bit | 8gb ddr3 | amd fx 6100 (3.3x6) | zotac fermi gt430 | xbmc.4.life
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-20 01:26 by gotoman00.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,221
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 178
Post: #6
Yup, so that'll be exactly the problem: The songs will have inconsistent MBIDs in the tags.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
gaburko Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Hi guys, i have been struggling with this for a while now. Can someone please suggest how to either edit these MBIDs or exclude this feature altogether?
Since i upgraded, i had my albums split and since then every option i try keeps them split.

Any advice on how to tackle this would be appreciated.

Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-05 14:26 by gaburko.)
find quote
whitebelly Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #8
Use MP3Tag, load files and select all, and hit Alt-T. Then you can delete MBID tags if you desire.
find quote