Windows or Xbmcbuntu
Hey guys just wondering if anyone could give me some thoughts on this...

I have a acer revo 3700. Had it a couple of years and always ran xbmcbuntu on it.
My main reason for selecting xbmcbuntu at the time was that it allowed hardware accelerated decoding and my machine has a atom cpu and a NVidia ION gpu. So hardware decoding was a must if i want to watch HD smoothly.

Anyway, XBMC generally runs great on it and video plays perfectly...but ive always had some kind of issue with it. Random reboots. Something not working how i want it, if i want to install something eg IR remote, samba file sharing, i have to search for guides etc because ill be honest im a linux noob.

So my question is, is windows XBMC able to use hardware acceleration for the NVidia ION gpu (id be running win 7 Ultimate)? (I'd much rather run windows if i could, as it is what i am comfortable with and know my way around.)

Also is any advantage of staying with xbmcbuntu or xbmc windows or vice versa. Will i lose functionality in anyway ?

Im sorry for the questions, but i dont want to delete xbmcbuntu only to find out xbmc windows doesnt work well on the revo r3700 and then have the trouble of installing xbmcbuntu from scratch.

Any help and insight would really be appreciated.
I have the same machine (2 of them actually) and they are perfect on openelec, and on Ubuntu.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Yeh dont get me wrong they work. But for example, I have installed the original xbox media remote IR dongle. Since installing i cant suspend or hibernate, just reboots.

When i start xbmc, i have to go to weather first otherwise it'll go into a reboot loop.