• 8(current)
Banana Pi (raspi clone)
(2015-01-28, 02:20)hemdedup Wrote: I was reluctent to purchace one but I have been having the hardest time getting information about codecs to get video playback. I can do installs of addons but when I want to watch a video from any source I only get audio. I am fairly new to the Pi community and I feel that the Banana Pi is a prety cool device but XBMC is still a along ways away. I tried installing the Android image with the Pheonix software that they recomended. It does not work. I can format my SD card but when it comes to burning the image it goes through the process and says that it is successful but when I chek it there is nothing on the disk. It will run the Linux distros with no problem. Most of the images that they have listed are wither broken or the thing is only good for running Linux.

When you say 'the Pi community' you need to be careful. The Banana Pi has NOTHING to do with the Raspberry Pi - and the 'Pi Community' would really usually be taken to mean the Raspberry Pi community. This thread is misleading by describing it as a 'raspi clone' - it isn't...

The issues with Banana Pi is that it uses an Allwinner SoC which has lousy Linux codec support... The Broadcom SoC used in the Raspberry Pi, whilst having a much less powerful CPU than the Allwinner A20 in the Banana Pi, has a MUCH better supported VPU/GPU combo - which does H264, and with the right licenses MPEG2 and VC-1 with no major issues.