URL for Active Recordings vs. URL for Completed Recordings

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 928
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #46
Yep, have a look in your config.xml for "Debug_RequestAllRecordings"

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC) Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #47
Awesome. Thank you!

Do I want to make it "False"??

I read somewhere that you were going to introduce a feature that would allow us to make TV channels appears as Radio channels. Is that there, and if so, is it in the GUI?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-27 03:28 by advocate99.)
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 928
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #48
Sorry if the name is confusing, it made sense to me lol Smile

In your case, you want to set it to TRUE. If true, it will send empty paths to XBMC in the GetRecordings call, thus making it "RequestAllRecordings" from the backend when you actually play one. If false (the default) it will behave as per previous builds, where the file paths for completed recordings are sent to XBMC, and playing a completed recording has no further involvement with the backend ServerWMC

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC) Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #49
No worries, mate! Thanks again for doing this.

Did the TV as radio stations make it into this releaseConfused
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-27 03:35 by advocate99.)
find quote
mini__me Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
(2014-04-27 03:32)advocate99 Wrote:  Did the TV as radio stations make it into this releaseConfused

Yes, it's in the change log.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-27 07:47 by mini__me.)
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 928
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #51
Yep, it's called "ForcedRadioChannels" in the config.xml and supports number ranges with either dashes or comma separated.

eg
Code:
<ForcedRadioChannels>700-750,795,802.1,802.2</ForcedRadioChannels>

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC) Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #52
Just an update: This problem still occurs on Gotham 13.1 using OpenELEC if RequestAllRecordings is set to the default of false.

I've posted over at OpenELEC to report the problem, but nobody responded.

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #53
Well, I think I found the problem. (Fingers crossed).

I was duplicating the bug again this evening by changing the filenames, and found that after I changed the filename of an existing recording, then deleted another existing recording to force XBMC to reload the recordings list, the log would show that XBMC was attempting and FAILING to obtain a thumbnail from an old DVR-MS file that I have. It was always that one file and just that file. Typically, that would happen right before XBMC loaded the new recordings list containing the newly found (renamed) file). When I attempted to play the newly discovered (renamed) file, it would fail.

However, occasionally, XBMC would NOT attempt to load that thumbnail, and in those cases, the newly discovered recording would play just fine.

So, I moved that old DVR-MS file out of my watched folder and then did my test again. I've tested it several times and the newly discovered recording seems to play just fine.

I'm going to give it a day or so to verify, but if it works now, it would seem that there's some kind of bug that makes it so that if XBMC loads the recording list and is unable to find a thumbnail from a recording, it is then unable to play any of the other newly found files until an older file is played..

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-19 09:32 by advocate99.)
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #54
Never mind. That didn't fix it either. Back to RequestAllRecordings - True.

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-19 09:48 by advocate99.)
find quote
scarecrow420 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 928
Joined: Oct 2004
Reputation: 21
Post: #55
Oh noes for a minute there I thought it was explained. Now we are back to head scratching!

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC) Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #56
Interestingly, this bug has now returned, but in the opposite direction.

I can no longer play new recordings that show up on my system until I do a library update. However, I have the debug settings, requestallrecordings to TRUE. If I change it to FALSE (default), then I appear to be able to play new recordings. This is the opposite of what it was before. In fact, you introduced this debug feature so that I could play new recordings that were NOT working with the default.

This problem started after I installed one of the recent ServerWMC updates over the last week.

Can you guys think of any changes that you made that might have affected this?? Its very strange that the bug is now reversed..

FYI- Changing back the debug setting isn't a problem, but I suspect that I'm now not going to be able to play recordings that are in progress, because XBMC still has to request the SMB path for those items from ServerWMC, and I'm no longer able to play those files when they are new until I update the library. It may work if I remux active recordings, but I hate doing that because it messes up the skip timers..

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-28 10:37 by advocate99.)
find quote
krustyreturns Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,594
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 48
Location: Springfield Heights, CA
Post: #57
If the active files are showing up in the recordings list and you have RemuxActiveRecordings set to false, you should be able to play there files without remux. Also I think the skip timers work fine for active recordings (so long as the remux has time to get ahead in the file).

As to why the bug is working in reverse, scarecrow did make some server/client notification changes, so he may know.

Windows Media Center PVR addon (pvr.wmc) and server backend (ServerWMC)
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
find quote
advocate99 Offline
Moderator
Posts: 232
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 10
Post: #58
Thanks for getting back to me. I've done a little bit more research and I think I was partially wrong earlier. The bug isn't reversed. It now appears to occur either way, but with slightly different characteristics.

1. If RequestAllRecordings=True, then the bug appears after a reboot until you do a library update at least once. If you do at least one library update anytime after rebooting, you're fine going forward. All new recordings will play just fine as long as the show up AFTER one library update. Note: It may be necessary to do the library update AFTER the bug manifests itself, i.e. a recording fails. I haven't tested this precisely yet.

2. If RequestAllRecordings=False, then the bug appears everytime a new recording shows up. A library update, or playing an older recording, appears to cure the bug for new recordings that are actually there at the time you do the library update, but newly added recordings will continue to have the problem. With this setting, you have to continually library update when new recordings appear.

#1 is an easy fix, since doing just one library update after a reboot is an easy work-around. That is probably why I haven't encountered the issue before. Yesterday, I turned on a new machine for use just as an PVR box only and never did a single library update. I encountered the bug. My guess is that it was always there, but on my other machines, I've always done a library update at least once before watching live TV and so I never encountered it.

I'm going to do some more experimentation on this and will report back.



(2014-09-28 18:48)krustyreturns Wrote:  If the active files are showing up in the recordings list and you have RemuxActiveRecordings set to false, you should be able to play there files without remux. Also I think the skip timers work fine for active recordings (so long as the remux has time to get ahead in the file).

As to why the bug is working in reverse, scarecrow did make some server/client notification changes, so he may know.

I welcome comments and suggestions for the XBMC Set-up Guide that I wrote.
You can read it here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193310
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-28 21:32 by advocate99.)
find quote
Post Reply