Hardware recommendation for XBMC + Steam In-Home Streaming
Hey all,

I've never built an HTPC before and would like to put together something that has Steam In-Home Streaming (60FPS, 1080P) and XBMC capabilities plus bonus points for being able to handle constant library maintenance/updating and some light emulator action. No Blu-ray necessary.

Some details:
1.)I have a NAS box storing all of my media, so a ton of storage is not necessary.
2.)It's possible that I won't be able to run an ethernet connection to this thing, so may have to rely on Wifi
3.)The gaming PC from which Steam will be streaming is fairly robust and powerful.
4.)I currently have library updaters/SAB/SB/CP/xbmc.mylibrary (for updating PlayOn links) running 24/7 on my main PC. I'd like to move those functions over to the HTPC, which will probably be used less, so that I can free up the main PC for gaming and working from home. I take it that these activities are somewhat CPU-intensive.
5.)Silence would be great, because this thing is going in our bedroom.

No set budget--I'd like to know what I'm looking at to achieve all of these goals simultaneously. Definitely open to watercooling, as well.

Let me know what you guys think I should pick up!
Don't use WiFi. If you can't run a cat5 cable in. Can you not budget in some homeplugs/power line adapters?

What country you from so users know which currency you have?

I'd start off by picking a case as that will dictate the guts that go into it.
Modded MK1 NUC - CLICK ----- NUC Wiki - CLICK

Bay Trail NUC FTW!

I've donated, have you?

(2014-04-22, 19:39)jammyb Wrote: Don't use WiFi. If you can't run a cat5 cable in. Can you not budget in some homeplugs/power line adapters?

What country you from so users know which currency you have?

I'd start off by picking a case as that will dictate the guts that go into it.

Got it--I'll cat6 the joint. Smile I'm the US.