Best Practice XBMC in action
Hi,

I am new to XBMC and I am circling with all the information in this forum about what is the "best practice" set up - for me.

Let me give a few notes on my use case and current set up (open for discussion):

I want a library for films that allows me to nicely organize and control my videos from a tablet/smartphone for playback on a Smart TV.
Second scope (no must) is playback of Photo *Albums* (not photos from a directory) on my Smart TV ( I am currently using IPhono and like it Smile
I have a separate perfectly working solution on Sonos for music.

XBMC is currently running on my MacBook
I have no HTPC and am not sure I really need one for a suitable set up (part of the question)
I have a Samsung Smart TV supporting UPnP/DLNA
My media is on a HDD connected to a Router via USB, exposed using FTP to XBMC
I am using XBMC remote on iPhone (but can currently only control play back on the XBMC itself - no "play with" feature)
I am using IPhoto plug in with XBMC - works OK - but I do not really like control and Thumbnail view from XBMC remote (so using ATV today)

I have a ATV3 which is not used in the XBMC set up right now but used for iphoto running on the MacBook for playback on TV (A Jail brake would have resolved my issues right away :/

Next door - literally on the wall behind the TV - I have a WinPC (I could, and thought about, getting a HDMI cable through the wall from the PC to the TV - 50 cm)

I am going to purchase a proper NAS, QNAP or Synology (part of my question) - this could be one with local XBMC, and be placed in the room with the Win PC to connect to the TV via HDMI?
I am going to purchase a Tablet - iOS or Android (whatever makes in above setup more sense)
I do not necessarily want to purchase a dedicated HTPC - but I am open if that is what I need - DLNA should do the job in my view?

My Media is in one large directory - with one subdirectory for each film/series - Media is in mixed format today.