Linux - Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC/Linux+XBMC) [v3.0 - 2014/10/16]

  Thread Rating:
  • 14 Votes - 4.71 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ntpphong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
I will give it a try

Thanks
find quote
jsp1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #32
(2014-05-10 18:08)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(2014-05-10 18:05)tetsuya Wrote:  Since the chromebox is similar to the Acer C720 (same hardware), do you think the following from the Arch linux wiki
would fix the suspend issue?

Acer C720 Chromebook: Fixing suspend

possibly, I'll have to look at it more closely and see how well it maps to OpenELEC.

That would be really great if it could support suspend. One of the only major downsides of the box so far, I'd love to see it sleep/wake with remote.
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,033
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #33
(2014-05-10 20:38)jsp1 Wrote:  That would be really great if it could support suspend. One of the only major downsides of the box so far, I'd love to see it sleep/wake with remote.

ditto. as soon as I unbrick my ChromeBox (flashing some test firmware) I plan on looking at it

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
ntpphong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
got it to work. Thanks for the help guys
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,033
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #35
(2014-05-11 04:56)ntpphong Wrote:  got it to work. Thanks for the help guys

Great to hear. I'd appreciate if you can review the updated instructions and suggest any ways I can improve them

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
tetsuya Offline
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #36
Just read this in the arch linux forums.

parchedas Wrote:The resume bug is caused by this commit https://github.com/torvalds/linux/commit/1569a4c4ceba hopefully someone will now be able to fix it.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-11 07:13 by tetsuya.)
find quote
ntpphong Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #37
(2014-05-11 05:18)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(2014-05-11 04:56)ntpphong Wrote:  got it to work. Thanks for the help guys

Great to hear. I'd appreciate if you can review the updated instructions and suggest any ways I can improve them

Your instructions are clear, it's just that I was too tired when I tried doing it and did not read them carefully.
find quote
asleulv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #38
I'm trying to install the standalone OpenElec (option 5).

However, when trying to make the boot USB I get this message (after pressing enter):
Quote:3Tfu5W: line 49: disks: command not found
No devices available to create OpenELEC isntall media.

OpenELEC installation media creation failed: retry with different USB/SD media.
¨

I have tried 4 different USB devices and one of them worked great for making the OpenELEC boot drive a couple of days ago.

Any ideas?

EDIT:
Actually, it seems to be working with the "old" script (w1BU71).
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-12 10:41 by asleulv.)
find quote
asleulv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #39
Ok, got my Chromebox with OpenELEC working (thanks for the installation script, Matt).

I thought everything would run smoothly, BUT my xbmc keeps crashing when I'm streaming videos/browsing the menus with video running in the background.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-12 14:45 by asleulv.)
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,033
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #40
(2014-05-12 10:34)asleulv Wrote:  I'm trying to install the standalone OpenElec (option 5).

However, when trying to make the boot USB I get this message (after pressing enter):
Quote:3Tfu5W: line 49: disks: command not found
No devices available to create OpenELEC isntall media.

OpenELEC installation media creation failed: retry with different USB/SD media.
¨

I have tried 4 different USB devices and one of them worked great for making the OpenELEC boot drive a couple of days ago.

Any ideas?

EDIT:
Actually, it seems to be working with the "old" script (w1BU71).

there was an extra space or two in that line causing an issue, it's fixed now.

(2014-05-12 14:19)asleulv Wrote:  Ok, got my Chromebox with OpenELEC working (thanks for the installation script, Matt).

I thought everything would run smoothly, BUT my xbmc keeps crashing when I'm streaming videos/browsing the menus with video running in the background.

several people have reported this, seems more like an OE issue than something specific to the ChromeBox

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
asleulv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #41
(2014-05-12 16:36)Matt Devo Wrote:  several people have reported this, seems more like an OE issue than something specific to the ChromeBox

I see. Any fix for this yet?
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,033
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #42
(2014-05-12 18:06)asleulv Wrote:  
(2014-05-12 16:36)Matt Devo Wrote:  several people have reported this, seems more like an OE issue than something specific to the ChromeBox

I see. Any fix for this yet?

not that I've seen. Keep an eye on the OE forums / IRC chat I guess

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
asleulv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #43
(2014-05-12 18:30)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(2014-05-12 18:06)asleulv Wrote:  
(2014-05-12 16:36)Matt Devo Wrote:  several people have reported this, seems more like an OE issue than something specific to the ChromeBox

I see. Any fix for this yet?

not that I've seen. Keep an eye on the OE forums / IRC chat I guess

Ok, thanks. I'll see what I can find.
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,033
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #44
(2014-05-12 19:37)asleulv Wrote:  Ok, thanks. I'll see what I can find.

might also be an XBMC 13 issue. You could always downgrade to OE 3.2.4 and see if that runs any better.

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
asleulv Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #45
(2014-05-12 20:08)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(2014-05-12 19:37)asleulv Wrote:  Ok, thanks. I'll see what I can find.

might also be an XBMC 13 issue. You could always downgrade to OE 3.2.4 and see if that runs any better.

I would like to try that. Possible through your script?
find quote
Post Reply