Linux - Asus/HP ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC or Ubuntu+XMBC) [v2.18 - 2014/09/02]

  Thread Rating:
  • 14 Votes - 4.71 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
-DDD- Offline
Fan
Posts: 392
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 8
Post: #1231
Have you tried OE 4.0.7?

| myHTPC |
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 20:26 by -DDD-.)
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 852
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 45
Post: #1232
(Yesterday 20:17)ant_thomas Wrote:  I'm using a 4GB HP Chromebox and I'm having an issue.

I've removed the writeprotect screw, gone into developer mode, setup for standalone which installed the coreboot firmware and created an OpenELEC SD card.

Booted into the OpenELEC setup and this is what happens....

<snip>

Any ideas?
The flash of background output is caused every time I press enter to "Quick Install of OpenELEC"

Just tested and was able to reproduce that here - looks like the OE folks botched something with the installer for 4.1.5. I'd download an older / known working version (4.0.7 or 4.1.4), use that to create a USB installer, and then manually upgrade to 4.1.5.

In the meantime, I'll revert the script to use 4.1.4

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
ant_thomas Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #1233
Thanks for the quick reply Matt.

I'll give that a go.
find quote
ant_thomas Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #1234
Installing 4.1.4 worked fine.
find quote
ant_thomas Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #1235
Seem to have an issue where the HP Chromebox hangs on boot if my TV/AVR aren't turned on.

Not a huge issue because if I suspend the box everything turns on using CEC absolutely fine. Wakes perfectly from MCE IR remote too.
find quote
MrLondon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1236
Matt I tied wake on LAN on the HP chrome box after I shut it down from the menu but the box did not come back on. Anything I would need to enable? I used official iOS xbmc remote
find quote
ant_thomas Offline
Fan
Posts: 407
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: Manchester, UK
Post: #1237
(Yesterday 23:48)MrLondon Wrote:  Matt I tied wake on LAN on the HP chrome box after I shut it down from the menu but the box did not come back on. Anything I would need to enable? I used official iOS xbmc remote

WOL didn't work for me when it was shutdown but works fine when suspended if that helps you.
find quote
Veronica Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Ecuador
Post: #1238
Yes WoL is meant for suspend mode NOT when the box is completely off.

My XBMC folder:

GDrive
find quote
Post Reply