Linux - Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC/Linux+XBMC) [v3.0 - 2014/10/16]

  Thread Rating:
  • 14 Votes - 4.71 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Netix Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 3
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Post: #1696
(2014-10-18 19:48)JD2k3 Wrote:  Hey Matt,

I'm trying to update the coreboot version of my Asus ChromeBox on Openelec but it fails with the following message:

Code:
Reading current firmware
Failure extracting MAC address from current firmware.

This is most likely caused because I was using some previous version that changed the mac address to a default one.
Is there any way to restore the mac address using Openelec or do I completely need to restore it in order to use this update script?

Thanks!

Same issue here.. any idea ?
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,026
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #1697
(2014-10-18 19:48)JD2k3 Wrote:  Hey Matt,

I'm trying to update the coreboot version of my Asus ChromeBox on Openelec but it fails with the following message:

Code:
Reading current firmware
Failure extracting MAC address from current firmware.

This is most likely caused because I was using some previous version that changed the mac address to a default one.
Is there any way to restore the mac address using Openelec or do I completely need to restore it in order to use this update script?

Thanks!

(2014-10-18 20:04)Netix Wrote:  Same issue here.. any idea ?

assuming you have your stock firmware backed up, you can:

1) boot to another OS (on USB) that can run the full EZ setup script, which can extract the MAC address info from a stock firmware backup file.
2) if the above doesn't work, re-flash your stock firmware, then re-run the EZ setup script to flash the coreboot firmware (no reboot needed in between the two flashes)

or, if you don't have a stock firmware backup or don't care about the unique MAC address:

3) re-run the standalone updater script now that I've modified it to just make the MAC address persistence a warning vs an error

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
JD2k3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1698
(2014-10-18 20:51)Matt Devo Wrote:  assuming you have your stock firmware backed up, you can:

1) boot to another OS (on USB) that can run the full EZ setup script, which can extract the MAC address info from a stock firmware backup file.
2) if the above doesn't work, re-flash your stock firmware, then re-run the EZ setup script to flash the coreboot firmware (no reboot needed in between the two flashes)

or, if you don't have a stock firmware backup or don't care about the unique MAC address:

3) re-run the standalone updater script now that I've modified it to just make the MAC address persistence a warning vs an error

Thanks for the quick fix option 3 worked fine this time Cool
find quote
Loicvan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1699
Just trying to install openelec and even though I see the menu with sandisk ssd and my usb key, esc does nothing and then it wants to start from the internal ssd. I even tried different keyboards. Why can't I choose the usb key to boot (I tried several keys too)? the bios is SeaBIOS 20141016 from Matt. It just doesn't wait at all and try to boot right away from the ssd, and hangs.
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-18 23:15 by Loicvan.)
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,026
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 51
Post: #1700
(2014-10-18 23:03)Loicvan Wrote:  Just trying to install openelec and even though I see the menu with sandisk ssd and my usb key, esc does nothing and then it wants to start from the internal ssd. I even tried different keyboards. Why can't I choose the usb key to boot (I tried several keys too)? the bios is SeaBIOS 20141016 from Matt. It just doesn't wait at all and try to boot right away from the ssd, and hangs.

that doesn't make sense - you don't see the menu with boot devices unless you first hit ESC, so if you are seeing the menu, it is recognizing you pressing ESC. Once you hit ESC and the menu is displayed, the only inputs that are recognized are the numbers corresponding to the displayed boot devices. Prior to the display of the boot menu, if you hit any key other than ESC, it will immediately boot the first boot device (internal HDD)

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
mdumont1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1701
(2014-10-15 04:15)xi_Slick_ix Wrote:  First off, big thanks to Matt Devo.

Sorry ahead of time if this has been mentioned, 100 pages is a lot to cover.

I have the M004u, dual booting Xubuntu & ChromeOS. That connects to a Pioneer VSX-822-K over hdmi (more on that in a moment), and then to my TV over hdmi.

The reason I mention the receiver is that I am having really odd audio issues. Initially, before I setup dual booting, (in ChromeOS) I had no audio. Then, after setting up Xubuntu (Pulse Audio), I get no audio (built in audio player, system sounds, Pandora and Netflix in chrome, etc.). In XBMC on Xubuntu, I get audio from DTS-HD, DTS, and Dolby audio tracks in movies, but basically nothing 2-channel based (MP3's, etc.). I've read that Pulse Audio is currently broken on this device in Ubuntu, so, here come the questions:
  • Anyone know if there are issues with receivers (specifically Pioneer's) and Chromebox? This receiver handled Crystalbuntu on the OG Apple TV great.
  • Is Pulse Audio just outright broken on 4th generation Intel Devices in Linux, period? I'll assume this is Intel's fault until corrected.
  • If Pulse Audio is not broken on the Chromebox / *ubuntu, is there a different version number or distro that I should be / can be using (Ex. Arch?)? (I still definitely want Netflix working, though I'm fine with using pipelight if necessary.)
  • Is Alsa audio the only way get consistent audio in XBMC currently in *ubuntu 14?

-Sorry if I misspelled / listed wrong stats - Bourbon & Coke before dinner gets me every time.

Thanks!

I have a similar setup with a Pioneer receiver and have the same issues. It sounds like it affects all Pioneer HDMI receivers connected to a 4th gen Intel NUC. It seems that there is an Intel driver issue when running at 1080p where the Pioneer receiver won't handshake properly and the sound won't output. If you use a lower resolution the issue goes away. It's actually only 48khz audio that won't play properly (which is most PC audio, passthrough audio seems to work fine) that's why your 2 channel mp3's likely play (since CD's are 44khz). Based on all the other driver issues Intel has to deal with and their lack of updates in various threads on their forum about this issue I doubt it gets fixed anytime soon.

There is a thread with more info on the OpenELEC forums about the issue and a workaround fix but unfortunately the fix is only for OpenELEC. The workaround is to have XBMC downsample all non-passthrough audio at 48khz. It's not a great workaround and you probably won't like it if you're an audiophile. For me it works, I can't tell the difference, it mostly only affects the XBMC menus anyways. I have been providing my custom builds with the fix in that thread if you want to try that setup.

Here's the thread: http://openelec.tv/forum/68-audio/67773-...channel-ok
find quote
Loicvan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1702
OK, I was able to get it by pressing 2 right after escape, for some reason it wouldn't wait for me to choose otherwise. All is good. Sorry Matt.
find quote
xi_Slick_ix Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1703
(2014-10-19 01:01)mdumont1 Wrote:  
(2014-10-15 04:15)xi_Slick_ix Wrote:  First off, big thanks to Matt Devo.

Sorry ahead of time if this has been mentioned, 100 pages is a lot to cover.

I have the M004u, dual booting Xubuntu & ChromeOS. That connects to a Pioneer VSX-822-K over hdmi (more on that in a moment), and then to my TV over hdmi.

The reason I mention the receiver is that I am having really odd audio issues. Initially, before I setup dual booting, (in ChromeOS) I had no audio. Then, after setting up Xubuntu (Pulse Audio), I get no audio (built in audio player, system sounds, Pandora and Netflix in chrome, etc.). In XBMC on Xubuntu, I get audio from DTS-HD, DTS, and Dolby audio tracks in movies, but basically nothing 2-channel based (MP3's, etc.). I've read that Pulse Audio is currently broken on this device in Ubuntu, so, here come the questions:
  • Anyone know if there are issues with receivers (specifically Pioneer's) and Chromebox? This receiver handled Crystalbuntu on the OG Apple TV great.
  • Is Pulse Audio just outright broken on 4th generation Intel Devices in Linux, period? I'll assume this is Intel's fault until corrected.
  • If Pulse Audio is not broken on the Chromebox / *ubuntu, is there a different version number or distro that I should be / can be using (Ex. Arch?)? (I still definitely want Netflix working, though I'm fine with using pipelight if necessary.)
  • Is Alsa audio the only way get consistent audio in XBMC currently in *ubuntu 14?

-Sorry if I misspelled / listed wrong stats - Bourbon & Coke before dinner gets me every time.

Thanks!

I have a similar setup with a Pioneer receiver and have the same issues. It sounds like it affects all Pioneer HDMI receivers connected to a 4th gen Intel NUC. It seems that there is an Intel driver issue when running at 1080p where the Pioneer receiver won't handshake properly and the sound won't output. If you use a lower resolution the issue goes away. It's actually only 48khz audio that won't play properly (which is most PC audio, passthrough audio seems to work fine) that's why your 2 channel mp3's likely play (since CD's are 44khz). Based on all the other driver issues Intel has to deal with and their lack of updates in various threads on their forum about this issue I doubt it gets fixed anytime soon.

There is a thread with more info on the OpenELEC forums about the issue and a workaround fix but unfortunately the fix is only for OpenELEC. The workaround is to have XBMC downsample all non-passthrough audio at 48khz. It's not a great workaround and you probably won't like it if you're an audiophile. For me it works, I can't tell the difference, it mostly only affects the XBMC menus anyways. I have been providing my custom builds with the fix in that thread if you want to try that setup.

Here's the thread: http://openelec.tv/forum/68-audio/67773-...channel-ok

Thanks for the info! I'm wondering if we (NUC / Chromebox & Pioneer owners) can't tweak EDID values to effectively override whatever information is being improperly sent or lost. Obviously sending static information all the time to the receiver has some drawbacks compared to the receiver and chromebox dynamically updating as necessary, but it could make a band aid for this issue until the drivers get patched. This would need a different thread as it is really specialized to a subset of users, but seems like it would be applicable to a lot of people.

--
Asus M004u Xubuntu XBMC 13.2
Apple TV w/ BCM70015 - CrystalBuntu 2.0
Raspberry Pi - Model B - Raspbmc
find quote
Post Reply