No movie/tv images show in (any) web interface

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Exclamation  No movie/tv images show in (any) web interface
Post: #1
OS: Linux
XBMC Gotham 13.0

Not sure when this started, but as the post title says, no images - aside from UI images such as
Code:
http://192.168.99.11:8080/images/ajax-loader.gif
and
Code:
http://192.168.99.11:8080/images/remote.jpg
load in any web interface. I've tried fresh install, first with the old .nfo's (that were exported through the Video-preference pane) and when it still didn't work I removed those and did a new fresh install + scrape. I've tried both Firefox and Safari with the same result.

I'm using the Universal Movie Scraper for movies and TVDB for TV, and all images/posters/fanart show just fine in XBMC itself.

After enabling debugging, I restarted XBMC and did a refresh on the web page. The debug log can be found here: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=197079

Using the network inspector in Firefox, I can see that it tries to load
Code:
http://192.168.99.11:8080/image/image://http%253a%252f%252fd3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net%252ft%252fp%252foriginal%252ffH​Bz5EnvLWkW2blBlWpk9M4fGVC.jpg/

Opening that URL in the browser gives "File not found".

Using the texturecache.py utility, this is what I find:
Code:
~ $ ./texturecache.py s fHBz5EnvLWkW2blBlWpk9M4fGVC.jpg
006505|9/9cc18d1a.jpg|0720|0486|0001|2014-05-09 16:53:10|                   |http://d3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net/t/p/original/fHBz5EnvLWkW2blBlWpk9M4fGVC.jpg
Matching row ids: 6505

~ $ find .xbmc -name 9cc18d1a.jpg
.xbmc/userdata/Thumbnails/9/9cc18d1a.jpg

~ $ file .xbmc/userdata/Thumbnails/9/9cc18d1a.jpg
.xbmc/userdata/Thumbnails/9/9cc18d1a.jpg: JPEG image data, JFIF standard 1.01


Looking at the HTML for a movie, it shows:
Code:
<div class="inner"><img alt="(500) Days of Summer" src="image/image://http%253a%252f%252fd3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net%252ft%252fp%252foriginal%252f5S​jtNPD1bb182vzQccvEUpXHFjN.jpg/"></div>

and texturecache.py:
Code:
~ $ ./texturecache.py j movies "500"
[
  {
    "art": {
      "banner": "image://http%3a%2f%2fassets.fanart.tv%2ffanart%2fmovies%2f19913%2fmoviebanner%2f500-days-of-summer-51a86122e613d.jpg/",
      "clearart": "image://http%3a%2f%2fassets.fanart.tv%2ffanart%2fmovies%2f19913%2fhdmovieclearart%2f500-days-of-summer-52072641b19a3.png/",
      "clearlogo": "image://http%3a%2f%2fassets.fanart.tv%2ffanart%2fmovies%2f19913%2fhdmovielogo%2f500-days-of-summer-51f2109d654f3.png/",
      "discart": "image://http%3a%2f%2fassets.fanart.tv%2ffanart%2fmovies%2f19913%2fmoviedisc%2f500-days-of-summer-52e9ac1f89f47.png/",
      "fanart": "image://http%3a%2f%2fd3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net%2ft%2fp%2foriginal%2fwjnvCroLmiHF7r7y​EPbAXYP9tpW.jpg/",
      "landscape": "image://http%3a%2f%2fassets.fanart.tv%2ffanart%2fmovies%2f19913%2fmoviethumb%2f500-days-of-summer-51a86138102cd.jpg/",
      "poster": "image://http%3a%2f%2fd3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net%2ft%2fp%2foriginal%2f5SjtNPD1bb182vzQ​ccvEUpXHFjN.jpg/"
    },
    "file": "/media/Movies/500.Days.Of.Summer.BDRip.XviD-ARiGOLD/arigold-dos-xvid.avi",
    "label": "(500) Days of Summer",
    "movieid": 6,
    "title": "(500) Days of Summer"
  }
]

Does anyone have any ideas? Because I can't think of anything else to try.

Any and all input welcome.

Thanks in advance.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-10 14:21 by atmominds.)
find quote
st33lb0ne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
I second this,, same problem.

- Upgraded Frodo to Gothem (full wipe of userfolder)
- After install and config no remote art/textures
- Local art and textures work fine

Arch Linux + Gothem
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-13 00:38 by st33lb0ne.)
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #3
Which web interfaces have you tried?

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
st33lb0ne Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Wow thats fast at this hour Smile

Default
Chorus
Visual X
XWMM

And my usual remotes..

Like i said. Locally in XBMC everything works amazing like always...
But webinterfaces and remotes get everything but textures
find quote
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hmm, I'm also running Arch. Are you running it with xinit as user xbmc or in a "real" X user session?

I tried reverting back to some old Gotham beta versions (and wiped userdata) but still no go. Also restored a backup of my frodo data and installed Frodo, but even there, where it used to work, do I get "File not found" on all movie/tv textures.

The only way I've managed to get a poster to show at all is to take the link to the poster, for example:
Code:
image/image://%252fmedia%252fMovies%252fUnknown.Identity%252fposter.jpg/
and change it to:
Code:
image/media/Movies/Unknown.Identity/poster.jpg
find quote
Puyb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Hi,

I have exactly the same problem since my upgrade to gotham.

The image url seems to be double encoded. If you decode the url just once, it work.
ie: If you transform http://plonk:8080/image/image%3A%2F%2Fhttp%253a%252f%252fcf2.imgobject.com%252ft%252fp%252foriginal%252f​tOxDM9o4pSlonBubi4WDfQWwqxe.jpg%2F
(found in the default web interface) into :
http://plonk:8080/image/image://http%3a%2f%2fcf2.imgobject.com%2ft%2fp%2foriginal%2ftOxDM9o4pSlonBubi4WDfQWwqxe.​jpg/
It work.

It tried the default web interface and chorus.

I'm running XBMC 13 on Arch linux, in standalone (no window manager)

Did you manage to solve this problem ?
find quote
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Yeah, the double encoding seems to be the problem. I tried changing default, Chorus and AWXi as follows, which made all of them display the images:

default
in /usr/share/xbmc/addons/webinterface.default/js/MediaLibrary.js
line 301:
from:
Code:
return thumbnail ? ('image/' + encodeURI(thumbnail)) : xbmc.core.DEFAULT_ALBUM_COVER;
to:
Code:
return thumbnail ? ('image/' + thumbnail) : xbmc.core.DEFAULT_ALBUM_COVER;

AWXi
in addons/webinterface.awxi/js/lib.xbmc.js
line 254:
from
Code:
return '/image/' + encodeURI(url);
to from
Code:
return '/image/' + url;

Chorus
in addons/webinterface.chorus/chorus.js
line 17052:
Code:
return app.settings.get('basePath', '/') + 'image/' + encodeURIComponent(rawPath);
Code:
return app.settings.get('basePath', '/') + 'image/' + rawPath;
and then copy chorus.js to chorus.min.js (or change in index.html to chorus.js)

That doesn't fix other apps of course, so for instance Maraschino won't display posters. What's odd is that seem to be happening for a select few users only, and all running Arch. I messed around a bit with the source and managed to get it working in all apps/interfaces without modifications, but that meant changing the JSON-RPC interface.

Any devs or anyone else have any ideas?
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #8
You are supposed to URI encode them. So you need to encode URLs that are already encoded. Is this a package from Arch linux?

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Yeah, this is a package from Arch Linux.

Compilation options here: https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/...abd29a3694

I use the internal ffmpeg though.

After enabling webserver debug, this is what the log shows:
Code:
DEBUG: webserver: request received for /image/image://smb%253a%252f%252fETTAN%252fmedia%252fMOViES%252f2001.A.Space.Odyssey.1968%252fp​oster.jpg/

And adding some web console output to the web interface I get this:
input to getThumbUrl(url):
Code:
image://smb%3a%2f%2fETTAN%2fmedia%2fMOViES%2f2001.A.Space.Odyssey.1968%2fposter.jpg/" lib.xbmc.js:254

and the function returns:
Code:
"/image/image://smb%253a%252f%252fETTAN%252fmedia%252fMOViES%252f2001.A.Space.Odyssey.1968%252fp​oster.jpg/" lib.xbmc.js:255
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-15 08:39 by atmominds.)
find quote
setti Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Same Problem here (ArchlinuxARM), but jsonrpc also gives a 404 for some methods.
See http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=195166
find quote
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Okay, so I'm pretty sure I've found the cause of the issue.

If I downgrade the latest (in Arch at least) libmicrohttpd version 0.9.35-1 to the earlier 0.9.34-1, everything works as it should again, at least in default webinterface, Chorus, AWXi and Maraschino. I'm too tired to look what changed between 0.9.34 and 0.9.35 but something obviously did.

Try downgrading and report back (you most likely an older version cached in /var/cache/pacman/pkg/).
find quote
setti Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I can confirm, that this helped to get the images back on chorus on archlinux Arm. the jsonrpc problem still persists for me on default webinterface....
find quote
Mizaki Offline
Fan
Posts: 726
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 14
Post: #13
Report it to the package maintainer and see what they say. Certainly seems weird to me.

[Image: watched-clearlogo.jpg]
AWXi - Ajax web interface. Wiki
find quote
atmominds Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Could this change in libmicrohttpd have something to do with it? From the 0.9.35 changelog:
Quote:Thu Apr 10 09:39:38 CEST 2014
Removed unescaping for URI path (#3371) as '+' should not
be converted to space in accordance with
http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/appendix/no...ds-in-uris
and http://www.w3.org/TR/html401/interact/fo...-17.13.4.1
Note that we now also no longer convert '#38;' to '&'; if needed,
the application needs to apply unescaping to the path of the URI
itself (before, MHD unescaped '#38;' but not '&amp;', so this
inconsistency was now resolved by simply not unescaping anything
before the first '&'). -CG

The reason for so few users having the problem would be that;
  • XBMC ships with an old version (0.4.5 from 2010 according to XBMC's Github repo) that is used unless you compile with the "--enable-external-libraries"-flag (?).
  • The latest version of libmicrohttpd, 0.9.35 (that introduced the problem), was released just over two weeks ago. Many distros might not have updated yet, and, according to the download section on their front page the latest version is 0.9.34.
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-18 06:49 by atmominds.)
find quote
bigdaddywheat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Hi All,

Can someone help me with downgrading process. (libmicrohttpd version 0.9.35-1 to the earlier 0.9.34-1). I have tried several web interfaces in Frodo 12.3 and Gotham 13.0 and none would show contents, thumbnails etc. I would greatly appreciate your help.

Current:
ATV2 - Gotham 13.0
find quote
Post Reply