Android Shutdown Button?
Hi All,

I'm quite new to XBMC and have a quick question?

I've been testing which o/s I should go with for a new HTPC and decided to go android. The only thing I have notice is on the android XBMC is when I go to shutdown XBMC it doesn't give you the option to shutdown the device only get and exit button which exits back out to the android O/S.

Is there any way to add this additional button so I have the option to either shutdown the device or use the existing exit button if I need to use other apps/programs on my device?

I'm not sure if this has been answered before as I can't find anything on here regarding this.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance
Standard apps on Android devices do not have permission to instigate a Shutdown or a Reboot. I'm not sure if it's possible on a rooted device, but I imagine it's unlikely that XBMC will have this option on Android at any point.

Android devices and HTPCs tend to be extremely low power devices - may I ask why you would ever want to actually shut it down completely?
Thanks for you reply airyphary.

The reason I would want to shut it down is I don't really see the need to leave it on all day whilst I'm at work or overnight when it wouldn't be used and the HTPC sitting there using power for the sake of it even though it's low power.

What O/S are you running your XBMC on?

The main reason I want to use Android x86 is from testing other O/S a lot of the video add-ons are incompatible. I would also would like to have the functionality of accessing websites, email and other android apps. Whilst mainly I will be using XBMC I would like the option to shutdown the HTPC from XBMC or exit the XBMC and then use the android o/s. I'm probably being to picky

I wasn't sure if there was a file that could be edited to allow this option?