Green pixelating lines on xbmc 13

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ylwfvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Wasn't sure where to post this. Trying to figure out what is causing this. I have my movies as mkv files. Attached are some screenshots of a clip from LOTR played on firetv with xbmc 13 This happens to bunch of my other movies.

I played this same movie on Apple TV 2 with xbmc 13 and it plays fine. Also works fine on my pivos xios running xbmc 12.0 as well as my windows 7 PC with xbmc 13.0

Thanks for any suggestions


[Image: BC7E0C70-A58E-4C2B-9168-05CFFDE9643C_zpsf0wqoz6s.png]

[Image: 3B32B60D-837F-4F3F-919C-9711AD6E4765_zpsgkj4egs4.png]
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-29 00:35 by ylwfvr.)
find quote
PatK Online
Donor
Posts: 3,363
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: Canada
Post: #2
Intel GPUs seem to show a green line when using hardware decoding (VDA).

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=172787

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Common_issues

looks like a gpu driver issue.
find quote
z31fanatic Online
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #3
The Fire TV doesn't have an Intel GPU.
find quote
ylwfvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
The screen pics doesn't tell the whole story. The green lines actually flicker. The video is choppy. Kind of like when it storms and satellite signal begins to fade out.

I'll try to take some video and upload to YouTube to so you can see
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-30 14:46 by ylwfvr.)
find quote
Kib Offline
Team-Kodi Server Dude
Posts: 3,415
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: NL
Post: #5
It is an issue with the video card or video driver.

Neon skin - v3.0.8 now available for XBMC 13.x (Gotham)
find quote
ylwfvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I ended up uninstalling Gotham and installed frodo 12.0 on my fire tv. I played the same files and had no issues. Movie played perfect without issue. At this point im sticking with frodo.
find quote
ylwfvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
So I reinstalled Gotham. Found out that the acceleration settings impacted this. So when played around with the different parameters this issue would go away. But the video playing was super slow and would be jittery. The audio would then also not be in sync. This was streaming blu ray rips around 30GB mkv files on hard wired connection.
find quote
optics Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
[deleted]
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-26 14:03 by optics.)
find quote
ylwfvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I'm struggling with why does the xbmc frodo 12.0 not have any issues but the newer Gotham does. That's what doesn't make sense to me.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,935
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 59
Post: #10
Frodo did not support Libstagefright or Mediacodec Hardware Acceleration therefore for anything non-Pivos it was software decode only.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,377
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 258
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #11
XBMC -> Settings -> Videos -> Acceleration -> disable "Mediacodec"

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: debug log = debug log, Video library = Video library, SMB = SMB , userdata = userdata, etc
find quote
optics Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
This problem appears to be fixed in SPMC v13.3
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-26 14:01 by optics.)
find quote
javich Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
I am surprised to see how many times the finger has pointed at the drivers yet the issue does not happen if using another player such as MPC with DVXA turned on.

from the second link below (XBMC wiki) you can see it is a confirmed issue in XMBC but a fix for it brings other nastier problems.

Anyone knows if there is a ticket in Trac or GitHub for this?

Probably we can vote and better document the issue there.

(2014-05-29 00:20)ylwfvr Wrote:  Wasn't sure where to post this. Trying to figure out what is causing this. I have my movies as mkv files. Attached are some screenshots of a clip from LOTR played on firetv with xbmc 13 This happens to bunch of my other movies.

I played this same movie on Apple TV 2 with xbmc 13 and it plays fine. Also works fine on my pivos xios running xbmc 12.0 as well as my windows 7 PC with xbmc 13.0

Thanks for any suggestions


[Image: BC7E0C70-A58E-4C2B-9168-05CFFDE9643C_zpsf0wqoz6s.png]

[Image: 3B32B60D-837F-4F3F-919C-9711AD6E4765_zpsgkj4egs4.png]
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,621
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 87
Post: #14
(2014-08-13 04:18)javich Wrote:  I am surprised to see how many times the finger has pointed at the drivers yet the issue does not happen if using another player such as MPC with DVXA turned on.

from the second link below (XBMC wiki) you can see it is a confirmed issue in XMBC but a fix for it brings other nastier problems.

Anyone knows if there is a ticket in Trac or GitHub for this?

Probably we can vote and better document the issue there.

(2014-05-29 00:20)ylwfvr Wrote:  Wasn't sure where to post this. Trying to figure out what is causing this. I have my movies as mkv files. Attached are some screenshots of a clip from LOTR played on firetv with xbmc 13 This happens to bunch of my other movies.

I played this same movie on Apple TV 2 with xbmc 13 and it plays fine. Also works fine on my pivos xios running xbmc 12.0 as well as my windows 7 PC with xbmc 13.0

Thanks for any suggestions


[Image: BC7E0C70-A58E-4C2B-9168-05CFFDE9643C_zpsf0wqoz6s.png]

[Image: 3B32B60D-837F-4F3F-919C-9711AD6E4765_zpsgkj4egs4.png]

there is no DXVA or mpc on android...
find quote