Using DLL's, threading, interpreter etc
Hi,

Hi i'm new to XBMC development and information seems a bit scattered so I figured it might be better to just ask here =)

I'm basically looking to make an add-on that will require doing quite a lot of processing at start-up and continuing to update on a regular basis in the background but I don't want it to be bogged down waiting on callbacks and where possible to be processing things as efficiently as possible so my 2 main questions are:

-Is using external DLL's possible to speed things up where needed?
-Does XBMC's python interpreter support threading so I can set off multiple tasks that are depending on responses

Also I can't seem to find information on what interpreter XBMC uses. Is it an entirely custom interpreter that uses XBMC functionality only? Or does it use the standard OS python interpreters, and if so what version?
- yes, but there is no distribution mechanism in place.
- yes.
- depends on platform, on linux it uses the system python 2.x, on others a separate python is built. it's not a custom interpreter, but there are custom xbmc modules which are exported directly by the xbmc binary (and thus is not available unless you run the script in xbmc).
External DLLs are a very poor idea unless you are going to support them on every platform XBMC runs on.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Thanks for the reply guys!

What do you mean by no distribution mechanism in place, do you mean just you can't distribute non-source in the official repo?

What would your recommended approach be for external code then nickr? The external code is going to be fairly generic stuff that python is generally slow at such as parsing large data files and maths with a lot of iteration.
yes, precisely.
(2014-06-03, 13:39)ironic_monkey Wrote: yes, precisely.