• 43(current)
Release Kodi Screen Reader (Text to speech)
(2021-12-22, 01:49)ezdropper Wrote:
(2021-12-22, 00:54)Amethyst Wrote: Hi
is there an easier way of installing it? I'm not really good with git and python and that kinda stuff.

Go to the pvagner/service.xbmc.tts Python 3 branch
https://github.com/pvagner/service.xbmc.tts/tree/2to3

Click on Code, Download ZIP, and download the file named service.xbmc.tts-2to3.zip

Go to the pvagner/backends Python 3 branch
https://github.com/pvagner/backends/tree/2to3

Click on Code, Download ZIP, and download the file named backends-2to3.zip

Start Kodi

Go to Add-ons, Install from ZIP file, choose the file named service.xbmc.tts-2to3.zip

Exit Kodi

Extract the file named backends-2to3.zip
Copy the contents to the folder named C:\AppData\Roaming\Kodi\addons\service.xbmc.tts\lib\backends

Thanks, is there a way that let's me do it without installing the addon in kodi? Like placing it directly in appdata or something? I can't use Kodi without speech, cause I'm blind.
Never mind, I got it installed and it works just as well as it did on v18. This is awesome!
After both repositories have been downloaded and the two folders have been merged, blind people can carry out the following steps so that the screen reader is installed and activated independently:

1. copy the merged folder service.xbmc.tts to addons/
2. copy addons/service.xbmc.tts/resources/settings.xml to userdata/addon_data/service.xbmc.tts/settings.xml
3. create file userdata/keymaps/service.xbmc.tts.keyboard.xml and insert this code
Code:
<keymap>
  <global>
    <keyboard>
      <f1>NotifyAll(service.xbmc.tts,REPEAT)</f1>
      <f2>NotifyAll(service.xbmc.tts,EXTRA)</f2>
      <f3>NotifyAll(service.xbmc.tts,ITEM_EXTRA)</f3>
      <f4>NotifyAll(service.xbmc.tts,STOP)</f4>
      <f6>Addon.OpenSettings(service.xbmc.tts)</f6>
      <f12>RunScript(special://home/addons/service.xbmc.tts/enabler.py)</f12>