Release - XBMC TTS (Text To Speech) [Alpha]

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #166
(2014-09-20 14:41)arsivci Wrote:  At first, I would like to send my deepest gratitudes for the creator of this amazing addon for which I have been looking for weeks. You are brilliant man!
Thanks. I'm glad you are finding it useful Smile
(2014-09-20 14:41)arsivci Wrote:  I have just a suggestion, is it possible for you to enable the first letter navigation for the tts? like when I press a letter, I go to that item starting with the initial I pressed? I have some free time for around a month, if you want me to test anything with regard to the addon, I am at your disposal.
Shift+Letter will jump to the next item starting with that letter in a list control. Pressing it again will jump to the next. This won't work for button controls that happen to be aligned in a row or list, but it works in most places, such as the main selections on the Confluence home window and all media lists.
I didn't even know this worked until you asked this question and I started playing with my keyboard to see if anything already worked in any views Smile
(2014-09-20 14:41)arsivci Wrote:  one more question, is there a way that I can put all the items like system, video, setting and so forth as a list from top to down like we can do on windows through choosing details option?
You can install a different skin. Off the top of my head, Transparency has predominantly vertical menus, though I'm sure there are others. While most skins should work fine with the TTS addon, it has been mostly tested against Confluence and Quartz.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
arsivci Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #167
Let me mention a small issue that while playing a channel through a tv addon, if the channel does not get cleared, I mean if it remains in buffering position, the xbmc starts heavily hanging on, I dont know if the app hangs in general or I lose the tts voice connection with the XBMC. This does not happen all the time, but gets repeated sometimes.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-21 10:54 by arsivci.)
find quote
skippi666 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #168
The Amber skin works for the most part and has an option in the settings to use a verticle homescreen menu.
find quote
blindndangerous Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #169
You can put things in your favorites, if you go to settings>appearance>skin>settings>addons I believe is the path. The problem is that we don't know what addon group does what. The menu goes addon 1, addon 2, addon 3, up to 5, but once it hits 5, pressing down again goes back to 1 for a different group. So it's trial and error to figure out which group will put addons in your favorite slots for music, videos and programs on your home screen.
Thanks for the skin suggestions, I've only really messed with confluence.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-21 12:49 by blindndangerous.)
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #170
(2014-09-20 20:06)arsivci Wrote:  Let me mention a small issue that while playing a channel through a tv addon, if the channel does not get cleared, I mean if it remains in buffering position, the xbmc starts heavily hanging on, I dont know if the app hangs in general or I lose the tts voice connection with the XBMC. This does not happen all the time, but gets repeated sometimes.

Maybe a log would help? I haven't had this issue, so it's hard to guess what is going on without a log.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
matt02392 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #171
Hi guys. Was trying to reinstall xbmc with the tts package and it seems that it isn't downloading something. Was told by a friend of mine that I should post about it on this thread. Getting a 404 when running the install.
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #172
(2014-09-24 15:59)matt02392 Wrote:  Hi guys. Was trying to reinstall xbmc with the tts package and it seems that it isn't downloading something. Was told by a friend of mine that I should post about it on this thread. Getting a 404 when running the install.
I'll take a look. Most likely the version that the installer is pointing to has been taken down since it's a couple of releases behind.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #173
I updated the installer. It will now install the latest Gotham stable release if XBMC is not already installed and then install the XBMC TTS addon and it's dependencies. I just tested it on Windows 8 and it worked fine.

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
Traker1001 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #174
Just tried it on win 7 and all is good. Still no complaints all is functioning well. Smile
find quote
arsivci Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #175
I have got another proposal, cant you implement the tts subtitle reading option for the srt files? this feature exists in KM Player.
Thanks a lot.
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #176
(2014-09-27 16:20)arsivci Wrote:  I have got another proposal, cant you implement the tts subtitle reading option for the srt files? this feature exists in KM Player.
Thanks a lot.

It's in my to do list to investigate speaking subtitles. I couldn't find a way to get them directly from XBMC so most likely it will involve actually loading the srt file and synchronizing it with the video position, but I'll see when I get to it.

(2014-09-27 02:30)Traker1001 Wrote:  Just tried it on win 7 and all is good. Still no complaints all is functioning well. Smile

Cool. I'm finishing some maintenance on some of my other addons that I've neglected since I started working on this one, but then I think I'm going to localize all the strings and post it to the official repo.

[Image: sig.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-27 17:54 by ruuk.)
find quote
arsivci Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #177
Hello, in some addons like Project Free Tv, XBMC TTS faces a great hardship to read the lists of items, such as the movie link/sources of a specific movie chosen. I read that it says such as 8 items or links, but when ı try to move from Parent Directory to down, I could read only the first or the first two items. For the wrest, TTS simply stays silent. As an example, enter into Project Free Tv, make a general search as "China Town", choose the movie and try to go over all the links/sources, you would see that it does not navigate or stays mute. The aledged bug I tried to describe above is not addon specific, I face it indeed in many ones.
find quote
ruuk Online
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 1,545
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 182
Location: Bremerton, WA USA
Post: #178
(Yesterday 14:33)arsivci Wrote:  Hello, in some addons like Project Free Tv, XBMC TTS faces a great hardship to read the lists of items, such as the movie link/sources of a specific movie chosen. I read that it says such as 8 items or links, but when ı try to move from Parent Directory to down, I could read only the first or the first two items. For the wrest, TTS simply stays silent. As an example, enter into Project Free Tv, make a general search as "China Town", choose the movie and try to go over all the links/sources, you would see that it does not navigate or stays mute. The aledged bug I tried to describe above is not addon specific, I face it indeed in many ones.

It seems to be working fine for me. What skin are you using and what language do you use?

[Image: sig.jpg]
find quote
Post Reply