Building under OSX 10.9.3 and Xcode 5.1.1
This is first post as I'm new to xbmc.
I'm running on Mac Mini with OSX 10.9.3 (Mavericks).
Being a mac programmer using OSX or iOS I wanted to build it for OSX.
I followed the README.osx document completing steps 2, (skip step 3 as I already have Xcode 5.1.1 installed), 3.1.2 (with no errors - took about 50 minutes), and 4.a (no errors).
Then moved on to Xcode and set up the environment variable and selected the XBMC target.
I'm using the default OSX SDK so didn't need to make any changes there.
Selecting Product/Clean is successful.
Selecting Product/Build results in a failure with the last of the log showing:
Warning: No doxygen installed. The Api will not have any docstrings.
mkdir -p xbmc/interfaces/python/generated/doxygenxml
Swig not found, it will be used if found after configure.
This is not necessarily an error.
make: *** [swig-not-found] Error 1
Command /bin/sh failed with exit code 2

I'm probably just on versions of OSX and Xcode the are just too new and untested?
With this version of Xcode there is no longer the gcc option for compiler and its mapped to clang.
However I'll be happy to make any changes (other than going back to older versions) if folks could use some assistance in trouble shooting this issue.
Did you build tools/depends/target/xbmc - that normally boostraps+configures (former of which does the swig stuff).

Then make xcode_depends.

Then you're ready for xcode. Not sure it will work still, but unless you have xcode_depends built it won't.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

I completed all the steps described in 3.1.2 without any errors. This should do the bootstrap and config - right?
Then I completed 4.a which does the Xcode_depends.