RaspBMC, USB Hard Disk and WiFi
Hi All,
I'm a beginner so any help would be appreciated. I bought a Pi model B and a WiPi WiFi dongle. I installed RaspBMC using Noobs and connected the WiPi and it worked fine. I could connect to my home WiFi and use XBMC remote on my Android phone as a remote control. I then connected an external hard drive (Samsung M3 1TB USB 3.0 Hard Drive). It worked ok. I could view video files on the USB drive on XBMC using the phone as a remote.

The next time I powered up the Pi the WiFi didn't work. The blue LED on the WiPi goes out halfway through the boot process and obviously the Pi won't connect. I re-installed and started from scratch and the same thing happened again (i.e. it initially worked and then stopped after being powered off). Google pointed me towards a power issue so I purchased a PiHut 7 Port Raspberry Pi USB Hub. I connected this and connected the hard drive through this but the problem remains. The LED on the WiPi is not on. I tried connecting the WiPi to the hub also but this didn't help.

Is there anything that I am missing? Any ideas appreciated.
Do you know the model of the wifi dongle you are using?
Hi Ned,
It is a WiPi WiFi USB Dongle for Mutilple Development Platforms (http://www.element14.com/community/docs/...I-ACC-WIPI).
I had trouble when setting up my Pi, which was caused by a poor connection cable from my power supply to the Pi.
After investigations I found that the black and red wires in the cable were WAY too thin and the voltage drop across 1m of cable was 0.4-0.5V!
I cut away the two connectors and spliced in a thicker black/red wire and after this I have had no problems.
You could check on the Pi board if you have this problem by connecting a DVM between TP1 and TP2. It shows the supply voltage on the Pi board. If it is lower than 4.9V or so I would replace the cable like I have suggested.