XBMC 13.1 on Openelec (RasbPi) Media Streaming Server
Hello Community,

i am a student from germany and i am a little bit puzzled ATM. I just got a new Pi (Rev.2) from Britain and installed Openelec with xbmc.
As Fallbacks Raspbian and RaspBMC are also available in Multi-Boot.
After installing and configuring i have access to my network smb shares, the internet of course and live-TV PVR-Plugin for VU+ to my Enigma2 (VU+Duo).
Since I bought a MPG2 license SD-TV also runs fine (HD-TV is a bit stuttering sometimes, when EPG is loaded or similar things happen... so i tend to SD, because I dont want to disable those feats yet).

This is the story so far. But now comes the difficult part...

I got VDSL 50 with 50mbit down and 10up. Sadly this is not enough to stream Live-TV directly from VU+ to "the Internet".
As far I can solve that very unpleasently by streaming the MPEG2 Stream from the VU+ to another PC, compressing it there (VLC) and sending it to my mobile phone (e.g.). This has many disadvantages, is difficult and the pc has to keep running all the time.

Now the idea is, to use the little Pi for this job. Is there a way? I have seen ffmpeg as plugin for XMBC in the OpenElec repos. So compressing should be possible?

Could you please guide me in some direction, or even tell me that it is possible/impossible to achieve my goals?

Thanks in advance,
Anci
There's no way the Pi is powerful enough for this. The GPU is powerful enough to do 1080p decoding, but that's it, as you noticed yourself when it comes to interface responsiveness. The CPU itself is very weak compared to budget x86 models even.

Don't forget this is a sub 50 € piece of hardware.
* MikroTik RB5009UG+S+IN :: ZyXEL GS1900-8HP v1 :: EAP615-Wall v1 :: Netgear GS108T v3 running OpenWrt 23.05
* LibreELEC 11:  HTPC Gigabyte Brix GB-BXA8-5545 with CEC adapter, Sony XR-64A84K :: Desktop AMD Ryzen 7 5800X / Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon 6700XT  / 27" Dell U2717D QHD