GPU impact on colors?
I've been running xbmc for a couple years now on spare hardware, most of this stuffs kinda old so got a cheapish nvidia card out of the supported cards list to keep the more challenging files smooth, everything runs great. Problem is though colors don't really seem as good as I think they should be, especially the blacks, I'm running gotham and have tried switching color space to limited, which results in a very washed out picture, so it's not that.

Panel is the legendary pana vt20, only have ps4 to test against but this looks quite noticeably better. I've played through hundreds of files on this setup, including plenty of bd50. Also I did run many of the same files on a popcorn hour c200 before making the switch and remember colors looking pretty awesome, so I don't think the source media is responsible.

I'm wondering if the GPU could be the culprit? Although I don't really see how since it's over hdmi, bits are bits right? Any suggestions?
Bits are bits - but unfortunately they get mangled by drivers and processing.

HD and SD video is almost universally in the 16-235 level space (broadcast video, DVD, Blu-ray certainly are) XBMC usually runs 0-255 internally, so 16-235 content is resampled to 0-255. It is also almost universally in the 4:2:0 domain (apart from some feeds which some of us watch) - whereas HDMI is usually 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 so processing is inevitably needed.

Digital video can be output to displays either in 16-235 level space (the norm for YCrCb consumer HDMI) or 0-255 (the norm for RGB PC DVI) Where this 0-255 to16-235 scaling for consumer HDMI (if needed) takes place is often the issue - and sometimes it doesn't... If it happens twice you get washed out blacks, if it happens once BUT you have a display expecting 0-255 you get washed out blacks - and desaturated colours. If it doesn't happen and you have a consumer display then you get crushed blacks and over saturated colours.