Playing files on DVD and/or Blu-ray
Hi there

Can I play files directly from disc & at the same time view all the necessary info about the program via XBMC the same as I am able to from HDD? I've never tried it before & am wondering if it works in the same manner?

William
yes http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=media_stubs
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
oh that is great. I didn't know you could do that. I was keeping a separate printed list for DVD and bluray.

How does it work with tv shows and seasons? If I have three seasons for a show, and each season has three disks containing four episodes each, do I need a .disc file for each disk or each episode or just each season?
You could do it a few ways, but probably easiest to do per disk and then name the stub file as multi-episode, like S01E01E02E03E04.disc
I have a list of dvd's in MS Access- about 400. I can export the list to excel, word, txt etc.

Rather than typing up each xx.disc file individually for all 400 dvd's, Is there a way of exporting each movie name in my list to the filename of the .disc text file? (does that make sense?)

I had a play with Bulk Rename, but it doesn't seem to have that function.
This would be a trivial(ish) exercise in linux which has strong scripting abilities. I haven't played with this sort of thing for a while, but the challenge would be interesting. PM a dropbox or similar link to a text CSV export of your database and I'll have a play.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Ignore my last. Found the function in Bulk Rename. It is named as Import-Rename Pairs

Thank you anyway nickr
FYI

I have noticed that the Missing Movie Scanner add on does not work on these .disk files...