MKV streaming problems
Hello all. I have been using xbmc now for about 2 years. I originally setup with a server and a dedicated htpc. I currently have about 14TB of movies in ISO format. I want to set up my server to run plex. In order to do that I have to convert all of my ISO's to MKV. That part is no problem. My problem is that when I try to use xbmc on my htpc to stream an mkv movie, it will not play. it stutters frame by frame. To be fair I streamed the same movie from its original ISO with no problem. In fact I played the mkv with no problem on my server from both plex and xbmc. So for some reason the mkv file will not stream as well as the ISO. Any tips or advice would be great.

The reason to convert to MKV is 2 fold. One it allows me to use plex to stream movies to all of my roku devices, plus I can stream to my phone and ipad at home and away from home. The second reason is that I could free up a lot of space on my hard drives. My copy of Brave went from 42GB to a mere 21GB. This is including the DTS MA.

Thanks in advance for any help

My server has the following

i7 950 o.c. to 3.2ghz
6gb dominator ram
msi x2 big bang MB with dual realtek gigabit Ethernet ports
gigabyte radeon 5870
Kingston hyper x ssd 128gb
windows 8 pro

Seagate 4tb 5900rpm
Seagate 4tb 5900rpm
Seagate 3tb 5900rpm
Seagate 3tb 5900rpm
Samsung 2tb 5400rpm
Samsung 2tb 5400rpm
Seagate 1tb 7200rpm
Seagate 1tb 7200rpm

Thanks everyone
Cooler Master HAF 935 Case
MSI xpower big bang Motherboard
Intel I7 950 CPU
6 GB Dominator 1600mhz ram (triple Channel)
Gigabyte radeon 5870 OC
Kingston hyper x 128 GB SSD
Coarsair AX850 PSU

2 x Seagate 4tb
2 x Seagate 3tb
2 x Samsung 2tb
1 WD black 1tb and 1 Seagate 1tb
Yet to work Supermicro AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 Card