Skinning project suggestion: Frontrow
hey there, if anyone has used frontrow for mac, they may well know that it is a wonderful ui, however the media interface itself is really let down by the limited features of frontrow.

i would love to make a frontrow theme for xbmc - however, im no good with xml coding or editing, but one thing i can do is graphics.

if anyone is unfamiliar with frontrow here is the ui:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sa8xffusa...h=frontrow

i would be really interested in bringing this to xbmc - if anyone would be willing to help, do the code work, and i do the graphics/visuals.

any help/info would be appreciated/support for this project

shane
something to play with!! granted i'm a skinning newb as well but i can find my way around code simple enough. drop me a pm and we'll see what we can see though my time at the momment is a bit streched we should be able to come up with something baseline to work on.
im hoping to do some stuff like this if the thumbpanel code or even the button scroller is redone after v2. as the current cvs cant do move and zoom in a 3d look way.
if it was allready possible then there were atleast some skins out there that would have got it by now, but since xbmc buttonscroller is kind of limited these days and doesn't do that kind of animation (only horizontal, vertical movements) we can only look at those nice images and wonder how cool it would be, but who knows maybe after feature freeze is ended we can move ahead and make it all work somehow,.. would be cool if they can add 2 new modes.. like 3dcircle, and another one along with horizontal, vertical.

and btw, it's not about doing some xml code, more like c++ code and some math..but the gui dev knows about it, he says "maybe" after ff, so who knows.. me personally would love to see this kind of stuff intergrated into xbmc skinning engine cause it's way smoother looking then what is currently possible.