TVHeadEnd for Synology ds411/414slim
Hey all,

Just wondering if anyone has experience with loading TVHeadEnd on a Synology ds411slim or ds414slim. I'm a bit new to all this but it looks as though there is a package for Synology devices at https://synocommunity.com/packages - Tvheadend v3.4.27-6

If anyone has tried this out on slim device, can you comment on the performance and otherwise? I wanted to know what implications or limitations there are of running this especially on an ARM-based NAS. I just bought a Raspberry Pi B+ that I would like to use as an XBMC frontend and am considering getting a ds414slim and loading tvheadend on it for the backend pvr. I have an HDHR-US network-based tv tuner so am wondering if everything will work and be compatible.

My goal is to replace my current HTPC (Win 7 + WMC running on old AMD Athlon quad-core that is power-hungry) with a low-powered media center solution that doubles as NAS (raided) for backing up everything else.
Since tvheadend works on a Pi your Synology will most likely be fast enough to make it work. I can't comment on your choice of tuner, though I think it should work quite fine. Try getting tvheadend installed and then start scouring the forums for more detailed information if any further issues arise.
(2014-08-10, 10:09)negge Wrote: Since tvheadend works on a Pi your Synology will most likely be fast enough to make it work. I can't comment on your choice of tuner, though I think it should work quite fine. Try getting tvheadend installed and then start scouring the forums for more detailed information if any further issues arise.