Dell Optiplex Gx620
A local business owner gave me an old Dell Optiplex gx620 that was used previously in a business office, and I was hoping to repurpose it to use as an xbmc htpc in my bedroom.

Relevant info on the machine:

Pentium 4
3 GB Ram
Windows XP
400 GB HDD

In addition, I had an old geforce 210 video card lying around that I have installed in a PCI slot - though I gotta say, I am a noob at installing hardware. I downloaded drivers from nvidia's site for the video card and connected the video card to an hdtv via hdmi. Picture and audio in windows and xbmc work, with the exception of 1080p.

I installed xbmc 12.3 (since that is the version I currently have on my other machines and am familiar with) and added folders from my living room i3 htpc as sources for tv and movies. That seemed to work fine for the most part, though episodes of at least one show aren't showing up. On to my real hardware concerns.

Playback of SD content and 720p content seems to be working fine, yet playback of 1080p content (basically no matter what the bitrate) stutters and shows a ton of dropped frames when I push "o" during playback - like to the tune of hundreds per minute I'd say. If I pause the video for several seconds and then push play it plays fine for a few seconds before it begins to stutter and drop frames again.