Cheap hardware solution for XBMC
Hi guys,

I am completely new to XBMC and have been considering whether to use XBMC or Plex. The reason I was originally thinking Plex was due to the fact that I already have a server running 24/7 anyway and hoped this meant that I could get away with a cheap client.

Now I am considering XBMC again due to the number of additional addons you can get. My problem is the best piece of hardware to use for installing at a cheap price. I am looking to spend around £50 but would ideally like wired ethernet, 1080p and if possible HD audio. What would you guys suggest?

Many thanks Smile
Nuc ;-)
LibreElec Kodi | Aeon MQ ?
It's more than I was wanting to spend though really. I think the cheapest is about £95 which to me is quite a lot at the moment. Are there any other cheaper alternatives? Maybe something like an Ouya?

Thanks Smile
(2014-08-17, 23:03)xbmcisbest Wrote: It's more than I was wanting to spend though really. I think the cheapest is about £95 which to me is quite a lot at the moment. Are there any other cheaper alternatives? Maybe something like an Ouya?

Thanks Smile

It's more than that actually. You need to buy ram and storage. Amazon fire TV is an option as well.
AFAIK, you're pretty much limited to a low end Android box or a Raspberry Pi at those prices.
For £50 - Raspberry Pi
Learning Linux the hard way !!
Pi is the best bet for £50. Will get you 1080p, wired ethernet, but not bitstreamed HD audio. It will bitstream DTS, Dolby and multichannel PCM though (and I'm pretty certain it will do high bitrate/bit depth PCM) With some over clocking it's a lot snappier than it used to be. I'd try OpenElec first, and if you have problems it's usually the PSU's fault...
Thanks for all of the options guys, I have looked at the Amazon Fire TV but just to confirm I don't think it's quite in this country yet is it?