legacy video card
Hi,

I am a newbie here. I want to use XBMC on Linux oooonly for collect ans sort my media directories on different devices at home. I will play it them on another devices (TV). I am using a legacy video card on my computer (Nvidia 7000 series) and at start XBMC says that it needs such video card which is able to make hardware rendering... Confused
Should I buy a newer video card Huh

Thanks in advance
I think it would be easier to simply install Ubuntu then install Serviio or any other UPnP/DLNA media server in their app store if I'm understanding you correctly, that will stream media to the other DLNA TV's on your network. No need to go buy a new graphics card just to run XBMC and XBMC's UPnP server is really only good for other XBMC clients, it's not great for streaming to other devices that may require transcoding video as XBMC lacks this feature.
The problem with that Starstream is that the CPU in the OPs PC might not be up to the task of transcoding
(2014-08-28, 16:43)Starstream Wrote: I think it would be easier to simply install Ubuntu then install Serviio or any other UPnP/DLNA media server in their app store if I'm understanding you correctly, that will stream media to the other DLNA TV's on your network. No need to go buy a new graphics card just to run XBMC and XBMC's UPnP server is really only good for other XBMC clients, it's not great for streaming to other devices that may require transcoding video as XBMC lacks this feature.

The machine and the op. system is default: Opensuse 13.1
I would like to use XBMC remotely with Plex as the tutorial described.
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=Add-on:PleXBMC

I have installed fresh XBMC and Plex without problem but XBMC send error message at start (no HW rendering in videocard).
I have changed the video card to that definitely supports hardware rendering. Nothing happened. Any idea?
"XBMC needs hardware accelerated OpenGL rendering.
Install an appropriate graphics driver."