How to stop liveTV from starting XBMC start

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
daweinst Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I have Gotham, and use NextPVR. When I start XBMC, it goes straight to live TV, the PVR starts and tv starts playing. I'd prefer that to not happen, and for the system to just start in the main menu. I use Aeon Nox skin, and have changed the options to make it start in different places, but it always goes straight to live TV. Please help!

Dan
find quote
sub3 Offline
Fan
Posts: 369
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
My Gotham install doesn't do that. I'm not sure how you would have got it to do that. Either way, it wont be the NextPVR addon causing this - you must have somehow configured XBMC to autostart live tv.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-28 20:12 by sub3.)
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,088
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #3
I would agree that this isn't a NextPVR client issue. Somehow you have some settings somewhere that are telling XBMC to start in the LiveTV area and then you have LiveTV set to start playing the last channel automatically. I'd try two things to troubleshoot:

1- Switch to the default Confluence skin and see if it continues to occur. If it doesn't, then there is something odd with the settings on your other skin. In Gotham some skins let you reset most screens to "default," so you might want to see if Aeon Nox does that. If not, you can rename the guisettings.xml file in (it's in the XBMC userdata folder), and that will reset every skin setting back to default.

2- If it's showing up in Conflunce as well, I would rename the entire XBMC settings folder and relaunch XMBC to create a new one. That's going to mean reconfiguring everything from scratch, so that's a last resort.
find quote
daweinst Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
It still happens when I switch to confluence skin. Anyone have any idea where else this setting might be?
find quote
teeedubb Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,621
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 62
Location: Down Under
Post: #5
There is a setting for this in xbmc's livetv settings. Are you sure that's not enabled?

My Add-ons, only available for XBMC:
Steam Launcher|Music Party Mode|Reboot2oOS|Triple J Radio
find quote
daweinst Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Thanks Teeedubb! There is a setting that says load last channel on startup. I thought it meant on startup of livetv it would go to last viewed channel, but no it meant start the tv on xbmc startup.

Thanks for the help!!
find quote