Best Android HTPC?
I have been running a houseful of XBMC clients for several years, starting with Windows/XBMC and slowly moving to OpenElec installs.

I have a new bedroom TV that needs a HTPC that can run XBMC. I had a spare Raspberry Pi which plays HD video surprisingly well, but any kind of navigation or searching in the UI takes a very long time. I am looking for something a step up from the Pi but less than a Windows-centric HTPC. All media is on a separate server in the house.

Requirements:
- fanless or nearly silent
- RJ-45 Ethernet, Wifi not needed or desired
- Decent speed in the UI but doesn't have to match PC speeds
- Netflix streaming would be a plus
- Somewhat straightforward to use

I know there are Android HTPCs but I have not tried them myself. Is there any clear winner in terms of hardware? I assume most Android HTPCs have a way to access the App Store to get the Netflix app. I see that some people use the Amazon Fire TV, how well does that work with XBMC? Based on the description, it looks like XBMC get shunted down into a Applications area instead of showing on bootup. I am concerned this will be too complicated a user experience for non-techies.
XBMC on Amazon FTV is quite good, with some caveats. I'd wait for Google's official Android TV boxes to roll out as I think they'll eclipse FTV and the gamut of Chinese Android boxes on the market today. Should be this Fall or by winter.
[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
My Family Room Theater
FTV is also region locked. Ouya is supposed to be OK but haven't tested it myself. I still fail to see a reason for going android due to it being a compromise.
Quote:FTV is also region locked.
Only if you need Netflix, Amazon, etc. Also, they are releasing these in UK and Germany.
[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
My Family Room Theater