Linux - Xbmc video too dark

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi all , i have XBMC installed on my xubuntu 14.04 with kernel 16.1 and all works really great no tearing nothing all perfect execpt the video quality is too dark. I use the kodi version coneected to my TV 32" lg. If i boot xbmc on my windows 7 the video quality is really good no dark picture but on my xubuntu the video is a litle dark how can i fix that ? I have the mesa drivers installed on xubuntu. How can i fix this ?


Thx
find quote
ulibuck Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
Maybe you need to "Use limited color range (16-235)" in Settings / Video Output
find quote
FernetMenta Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,279
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 65
Location: Munich
Post: #3
or you have graphics driver set to limited and tv to full range.
find quote
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(Yesterday 17:02)ulibuck Wrote:  Maybe you need to "Use limited color range (16-235)" in Settings / Video Output

yes I've tried that, but the colors are littles washesd and not that good like on windows 7 whithout change anything.

(Yesterday 20:40)FernetMenta Wrote:  or you have graphics driver set to limited and tv to full range.

How i can see if my graphics card are set to limited ?


Thx
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 21:32 by Smallville.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,133
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 142
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #5
Start with a Debug Log for now nobody even knows what hardware you are running.

On intel hw this can be changed
On AMD hardware with mesa drivers there is no possibility to change the color range.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(Yesterday 22:30)fritsch Wrote:  Start with a Debug Log for now nobody even knows what hardware you are running.

On intel hw this can be changed
On AMD hardware with mesa drivers there is no possibility to change the color range.

How i insert the debug log on forum ?


Thx
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,380
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 165
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #7
Read: Debug Log

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
find quote
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Here's my Debug Log


Thx
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,133
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 142
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #9
Yeah AMD GPU with bleeding edge mesa drivers (that won't make fun).

The only solution you have is
a) Either sett your TV to full color range
b) Use that Limit Color Range setting in xbmc

OSS amd driver can only output Full RGB. You can file this bug at bugs.freedesktop.org if you want.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
(Today 07:40)fritsch Wrote:  Yeah AMD GPU with bleeding edge mesa drivers (that won't make fun).

The only solution you have is
a) Either sett your TV to full color range
b) Use that Limit Color Range setting in xbmc

OSS amd driver can only output Full RGB. You can file this bug at bugs.freedesktop.org if you want.

So the problem is in the mesa drivers right ? And if i install the last catalyst driver from amd website i can fix the problem? Or is the same thing?


Thx
(This post was last modified: Today 11:58 by Smallville.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,133
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 142
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #11
You have a setting there to change the color output to rgb limited, yes.

But fglrx does not support hw acceleration - so your video playback will only be CPU accelerated.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Smallville Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(Today 12:08)fritsch Wrote:  You have a setting there to change the color output to rgb limited, yes.

But fglrx does not support hw acceleration - so your video playback will only be CPU accelerated.

I understand but what are the differences between CPU accelerated and GPU accelerated?


Thx
find quote