Minix x8-h
I currently have a Apple TV 2 that I have been using for 2 years. It crashes when I play high-resolution media and 3d movies. I've been doing a little research on the Minix x8-h and it seems to be pretty great. Before purchasing it on one to post to the forum and get some different perspectives/opinions on the box and how it runs Xbmc/Kodi and high resolution and/or 3d movies.
Would suggest Amazon Fire TV instead, or wait for one of the Google Android TV boxes in the Fall/Winter.
[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
My HT
Can you maybe explain or even mention any valid reasons why I shouldn't purchase the minix x8-h? Why is the Amazon fire TV a better option with regard to what I'm looking for in my post?
You can plug in external hard drives into the Minix where as you have to root an amazon fire tv to do this and amazon trying to block external hard drive use so you'll probably be stuck in a loop of waiting for root updates to continue using external hard drives with a fire tv
I would avoid any box that tries to lock you in a vendor controlled content distribution coop... but feel free to swap iTunes lockin for Amazon lockin.
(2014-10-03, 13:21)Willem55 Wrote: I would avoid any box that tries to lock you in a vendor controlled content distribution coop... but feel free to swap iTunes lockin for Amazon lockin.

why are you so negative and annoying in every single post you make? If you aren't contributing please stop posting your negative posts bashing everything except popcorn hour stuff.
(2014-10-03, 13:21)Willem55 Wrote: I would avoid any box that tries to lock you in a vendor controlled content distribution coop... but feel free to swap iTunes lockin for Amazon lockin.

Enough with this kind of bull. Neither Amazon nor iTunes requires that you buy media through them, and they play normal video files and music just fine with their hardware and players. Anyone using XBMC/Kodi is obviously using media that doesn't have DRM, so there is no "lock-in".