Minix x8-h
(2014-10-05, 00:40)Ned Scott Wrote: No one is advising OP to use Apple TVs. The Fire TV does not require root access to install XBMC. Root access is only required for special functions or using USB for storage.

I "gag" you because you're annoying the piss out of people, including me.

Look Ned.. you're not reading correctly..

So let me summarize for you:

OP post #1 quote..

I currently have a Apple TV 2 that I have been using for 2 years. It crashes when I play high-resolution media and 3d movies. I've been doing a little research on the Minix x8-h and it seems to be pretty great. Before purchasing it on one to post to the forum and get some different perspectives/opinions on the box and how it runs Xbmc/Kodi and high resolution and/or 3d movies.

post #2 quote...

Would suggest Amazon Fire TV instead, or wait for one of the Google Android TV boxes in the Fall/Winter.

OP: why?

then I chip in with basicly... stay away from closed systems...

then you come in heavy handed being still annoyed by probably another thread where we disagreed.

Your responses just prove that you have not really read the thread and start responding to the person and not to the content.... not the best thing to do on a forum but OK no hard feeling from my part.

As to the information you give on Amazon Fire TV and running xbmc there is a lot more useful xbmc stuff that requires Rooting the fireTV as opposed to an open android solution that the OP was investigating and others adviced.
And rooting a fireTV has been made impossible with the new fireTV firmware.... it is the same crap that apple pulled to prevent jailbreaking their appleTV boxes.

Missing the point and responding based on assumptions should be avoided.

I think you overplayed this one.... but let's forget about it.