Linux change forward jump length & sync volume control
XBMC 13.2 (Gotham)

I have two issues that I need help with. I've googled and searched on this forum and didn't find exactly what I was looking for and/or didn't understand the instructions.
I am new to XBMC and Ubuntu, so please be very detailed and thorough in your responses/instructions.

1) I want one volume control.
Increasing volume inside XBMC is separate from increasing volume outside of XBMC.
Let's say that I have the volume to 50% and then I start XBMC, while inside XBMC I set the audio level to 50% as well. The result is 50% of 50% audio output. So it seems that I have two separate volume controls that works independently. Is there a way to change this so they are synced?

2) I want to change forward/backwards jump length.
Today it jumps 30 seconds with the arrow keys, I want to change it to one second. I found some instructions in my search but it wasn't for my OS.
Quote:1) I want one volume control.
Increasing volume inside XBMC is separate from increasing volume outside of XBMC.
Let's say that I have the volume to 50% and then I start XBMC, while inside XBMC I set the audio level to 50% as well. The result is 50% of 50% audio output. So it seems that I have two separate volume controls that works independently. Is there a way to change this so they are synced?

No. The trend goes to per stream volume out of obvious reasons - we don't want to kill user's ears. Think of amps without volume control and user sets output to 20% in order to not blow his ears but getting output matching its amplification. We should not touch global volume - never.

There is one thing where volume works "kind of global". This is pulseaudio with flatten-volume = yes. That way the "loudest stream" changes master control volume, which highly confuses desktop users.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.