Minix x8-h vs. Tronsmart orion r28
I'm replacing my Apple TV 2 soon and I basically narrowed it down between two choices: The Minix x8-h and the Tronsmart orion r28. I've only seen reviews, so I have no prior experience with either of these media boxes. Basically, I wanted to post this thread to get some feedback on both of these boxes. Any advice would be very helpful! I will be using the box mostly for xbmc, but I wouldn't mind being able to have some other cool apps and a web browser. I'll also be using this for 3d content. Any thoughts?

Thanks
What about Fire TV? Also, only SBS and top/bottom 3D will be supported on all these I believe.
[H]i-[d]eft [M]edia [K]een [V]ideosaurus
My HT
How is 3d playback on the fire TV? Also, does the fire TV allow you to mirror Apple devices?
SBS and T/B playback works just fine via XBMC on FTV. Re: mirroring, I haven't tried... what Android app can I sideload for this? Re: AirPlay, it partially works via XBMC. Sometime only audio, other times video works, but then stops working.
My HT
try this thread XDA Devs

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthre...?t=2764848
EZcast screen mirror. It's FREE
My XBMC/Kodi folder: addons, skins, addon/menu backgrounds & more
(2014-09-25, 03:31)BigB42078 Wrote: try this thread XDA Devs

I just tried AirPlay/DLNA Receiver (PRO) and it partially works. Mirroring, 720p video and music/audio AirPlay just fine. But, 1080p video stutters, like clips shot with my iPhone 5's built-in camera.
My HT
Are you able to browse the web via the fire TV? Also, does the fire TV have the IR mouse control? How challenging is it to get xbmc on the far TV? Easier or harder than the Apple TV 2?
Yes, if you sideload Android versions of Google Chrome or Firefox, you can use either to browse the web. No IR on FTV unless you use an IR remote w/USB dongle.