Speed up SMB?
Hi all,
I have been using XBMC for a couple of years now on multiple platforms and it's 'Bob on'! Thanks to all involved!

Right, I now have it installed on my Raspberry Pi (Model B+) in the form of RaspBMC, and I use it to stream my media (wirelessly as wired is not possible) from a 2TB drive that is connected to my Technicolor router (via USB) by way of SMB. All of this works fine... but i am trying to improve the performance of the network access if possible.

Currently, when opening the library of media (complete with metadata) on the Pi, the interface is rather slow (perhaps as expected due to the number of files exceeding 100+), and also when begining to play a video, there is a delay of about 35 seconds between pressing 'Play' and the movie starting.
Now, I accepted this as the norm, and it is no major issue, but when I tested the UPnP facility of the router and adding the library via this protocol, access to my media was vastly improved (no more than a couple of seconds to start the streaming of a film). This method is of no use to me due to the lack of scraping ability.

Now that I have seen how quick file access can be, I'm wondering if SMB can be altered/tweaked in any settings (config files?) to improve its performance, or if it's already as quick as it gets?

Appologies for my lack of terminology and poor descriptions... I'm a complete novice! Thanks in advance!
I am not sure the speed problem is an SMB access problem...
I have used RaspBMC + XBMC since January and I started out with XBMC 12.xxx.
Then sometime before summer XBMC 13 (Gotham) was released and my Pi updated RASPBMC and XBMC to the latest stuff.
At that point in time my accesses to video on my NAS started to show these delays you are talking about, whereas before the "LOADING" sign appeared almost instantly after selecting the file with the remote OK button.