Zotac CI320 or Asus Chromebox
Hi,

I am about to choose a hardware for my home server and have serious doubts. I was just about buy Zotac CI320 (actually did, but they cancelled my order), when I began to consider Chromebox again.

Here's my use case:
  1. This will be a Debian or Ubuntu based home server (I have long, +15 years experience with Linux)
  2. It will serve as a WiFi access point (using hostapd) for my 100BASE-T ISP service, hence the 802.11ac speeds and external antenna offered by CI320 are appreciated. Too bad none of the processors have hardware AES support.
  3. It will run 24/7, hence the passive cooling of CI320 is appreciated, as well as potentially lower power consumption (processor's TDP of 7W vs 15W)
  4. It will also serve XBMC to my FullHD (Panasonic Plasma) TV over HDMI - scaling quality is important, although I watch all my content in 720p or 1080p
  5. It will also run Couchpotato and torrent client, downloading new stuff to my external 1TB 2,5" USB HDD
  6. given all above, 4 cores in Zotac should handle the actual multitasking better than the mere two of Asus.
  7. CI320 has IR receiver built in
  8. Chromebox is 2 x 1600 MHz, Zotac is 1 x 1333 MHz

Now, I only began to consider Chromebox because it was mentioned here that its CPU and GPU are more capable compared to N2820, which is close to N2830 that CI320 has. However, I made some research and it seems to me that the 2955 is actually less potent than N2830 (http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proc...&daysold=1), which directly contradicts what people say here on the forums.