Best PVR for newbie - and my initial problems w IPTV Simple Client
So I am VERY new to XBMC in general - and kinda stumbled upon the simple IPTV by trying to find a simple live tv EPG set up.

In a perfect world -

I live in NYC - I'd like an EPG that was similar to the channels on Time Warner (I realize this may not be possible).

I don't think recording options are available yet - but I could be wrong.

I tried the IPTV - and it seems that I just can't get the right live tv link and EPG link to sync and work correctly -

Is there advice? Is there a better PVR/EPG set up ?

I have been culling thru these pages and getting inundated with a tremendous amount of information - -

I realize we all hate newbie questions - but we are all beginners at some point - -

The IPTV sub forum doesn't really seem to have a guide for setting it up correctly - and it also seems that the EPG link that everyone was using is no longer being updated.

I dont' need 1000 channels from all over the world. I can use mashup for that - if I ever want to venture there... Just the standard 100 or so channels and a true EPG guide.

Any suggestions ?

And by the way - please talk to me like I am a moron when explaining how to set it up - as I said I am a newbie (and I am sure most of you already feel this way) Smile
40 reads, no replies?

Would love a suggestion or two.
I use DVBLogic (paid product) as a PVR backend which aggregates my 4 tuners and also feeds the EPG via the Digiguide plugin. The aggregated tuners and EPG can then be served to multiple devices (XBMC on Windows, Android, iPad etc). I run the DVBlogic server on the same PC that I run XBMC on. Using a VPN connection on my Synology NAS I am also able to use XBMC remotely including streaming all my live tv.

I use the DVBlogic XBMC PVR plugin to get live tv along with full EPG in to XBMC. I use the Aeon Nox MQ5 skin which has a nice GUI. I am able to series record, time shift etc from the EPG in XBMC.